Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was too sweet for our taste. It wasn't bad, though. I did add white kidney beans to it to add some additional protein since we are vegetarians and left out the bacon. It was a good soup overall just not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very good use of acorn squash! I changed the recipe quite a bit according to what I had in the cupboard. I took 3 acorn squash I had been given, cut them in half & cleaned them, rubbed olive oil all over them, then place them cut side down on parchment paper on a baking sheet and roasted them for 45 minutes at 400 degrees in the oven. Then mashed them up for the recipe. I doubled the amount of curry and used olive oil instead of butter. Didn't use flour and sauteed the onions and celery with a bit of salt & pepper till mostly softened, then added the curry & dill and sauteed that for a couple of minutes to bring out the curry flavor. Also added a little of the chicken broth too keep veggies from burning. Didn't use the chicken bouillon and added the rest of the 14.5 oz can and the pinch of cayenne. Then added 10 oz of rice milk and let that come to a boil before added the roasted and mashed acorn squash. Added some more salt (Real Salt) and freshly ground pepper before pureeing it all in the blender. Put it all back in pot and added a little garlic powder with some more Real Salt and pepper. Turned out really well and not much left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I'm not a huge fan of cooked squash but loved this soup. Mmmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnParada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I used this as a starter outline, basically. I was having a few people over and made bread and someone else was bringing ham...and someone else brought cake for desert. I thought a soup would be a great addition to our mini-potluck. I happened to have an acorn squash that I was wary of trying (never had winter squash before), so I figured if I didn't like it someone would. Anyway.... I wasn't sure who all would show, but it was possible that there would be someone allergic to gluten and a vegetarian, so I wanted to be sure that at least the soup would be fine for both of them. So I left out the flour, and replaced the chicken broth with vegetable broth. I omitted the chicken bouillon and added a little Adobo spice. I didn't have any dill weed, so I added a bit of juice from the pickle jar (as ridiculous as that may sound). After it was all put together, I realized that it was much too watery for our taste and there wasn't enough of it. So we added some potatoes and more chicken broth and topped it with shredded cheddar cheese instead of bacon. It was absolutely delicious!! Everyone loved it, and it went great with homemade wheat bread and ham. Even I liked it, and I'm not a big fan of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Hamlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Newport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
So good! I used a winter squash instead of acorn squash by mistake, and it turned out really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt and Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
It was a little to sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Incredible recipe and easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I was looking for a recipe to use up leftover baked squash and am so glad I decided on this one. I followed the recipe as written and absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Not a favorite, I guess the curry was not to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Fantastic...very creamy and full of flavor. I kicked it up a notch with the cayenne pepper and curry...mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lacey, Washington, USA
Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States