Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Incredible taste! I was delighted by how easy and quick this was .. .I didn't use the all purpose flour as the preparation was just the right consistency ... i will definitely be including this in my regular preparations ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Followed directions except did not bacon and did not puree liked it chunky. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This soup was easy and fairly tasty, but would have been better if made with cream or half and half instead of evaporated milk, which gave it a distinctive taste that I don't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I may not have made it right and came to find out squash is a pregnancy aversion for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smalltowndiverwife
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I loved loved loved this recipe! It's been rainy and cool where I live for the past week, and I have a lovely cold, so I was searching for a hearty soup for comfort. I'm also slowly trying to get ready for the all-feared bikini season, so I made a few tweaks to make this recipe a bit easier on the waistline. I sauteed 1 bunch chopped green onion (personal taste), 1/2 tsp celery salt (didn't have celery), 3 tbsp chopped fresh dill (prefer fresh herbs), and added one whole chopped jalapeno (no seeds) for a kick in 2 tbsp EVOO instead of butter. I omitted the bouillon (to save on sodium), used fat free half and half instead of ev. milk (still 12 oz), and low-sodium, fat free chicken broth. I added quite a bit of cayenne (maybe 1/2 tbsp) and an extra 1/2 tsp of curry powder because we love spice. I ended up using 2 large(ish) acorn squash (weighed in around 2lbs at the store) since the spicy needed a bit more sweet for balance. I tossed in an 1/8c shredded cheddar at the request of my husband (omit that if being calories/fat conscious) and topped with crumbled turkey bacon after it was in the bowls (again for the husband). I blended everything (after it boiled) in my Ninja blender, and it came out perfectly silky smooth. I used the microwave method I found in another review here to prepare the squash, and it worked perfectly. I even roasted the seeds with a little salt in the oven for a snack later that night. Awesome recipe! Try my tweaks if you want some kick and less fat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smalltowndiverwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was yummy and pretty easy. I don't think I had quite enough squash...I only had two and I didn't measure them out. I loved the flavor the curry added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Very rich a good. The serving size will be smaller than most other soups because of its richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was terrific! Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Morrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is a great recipe. I used a fresh acorn squash and followed the cooking advice of other reviewers on how to bake it before adding it to the broth base. I also doubled the amount of dill, curry and cayenne spices. I'll be serving it for dinner and I don't think it needs the bacon... saves fat/calories too! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolec79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Great recipe. I used 2 squashes and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States