Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I just made this with a few changes - I added about 1/4 tsp of celery salt to the 1/4 cup celery, because I LOVE what celery does to soups. I added a second dash of cayenne, and a healthy spoonful of curry. Instead of evaporated milk, I added 1/4-1/2 c heavy cream (I eyeballed it, sorry). This was AMAZING. Seriously, it didn't even need the bacon... which is saying a lot, because everything is better with bacon. Even BACON needs more bacon. But not this - it was superb on its own. Whomever created this is pure genius. I LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is the best squash soup I have ever made! I'm vegetarian so I make it with veggie broth and without bacon. And use 1% milk instead of evaporated just because that's usually what I have on hand. I don't know what the original version tastes like but the vegetarian version is soooo yummy! It's extremely hearty, nutty, and flavorful. Everyone I serve it to loves it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Our kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANJA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I added another cup of mashed acorn squash, used vegetable bouillon, and omitted the flour, but other than that I followed the recipe to a T and it was DIVINE. Definitely making this for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
OMGosh, this soup is to die for! What a wonderful way to use acorn squash. The consistency is perfect, spies just right (I did not use curry because I didn't have any). Definitely a recipe that will be in our regular fall/winter rotation. Did make a few adjustments only because of what I had on hand ~ Used whole milk instead of evap. milk, a few dashes of hot sauce instead of cayenne, and half beef broth/half chicken broth, but really the most perfect squash soup EVER! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Wow - fantastic, I added chipolte pepper instead of cayenne because I love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara yeats

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I made it exactly as written and it was delicious. My husband helped (he cooked the bacon) and said it was a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Wonderful blend of flavors! A great comfort food for the fall or winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This soup was an absolutely smashing hit in my house. I dearly love soup and consider it to be a main course meal. My boyfriend is the exact opposite and considers it a side dish and has never raved over soup. This is the very first exception. He loved it. He told me over and over again how much he liked it. And the proof was in the fact that the leftovers only lasted two days. I took it to work once and he ate it once. As with most curries, this dish is better the second day. I love that the spices can be individually tasted in the dish. You can taste the curry and the dill and neither one of them overpower the other. Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
First time making squash soup and it turned out grrrreat!!!! The family are not home from work yet but i think when they try this they will love it:) thank you this recipe is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMAC

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States