Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
yum! so good, i have been making this for over a year now, and it never gets old! i love an excuse to eat bacon! i have used pumpkin many times, and it still tastes the same- delish... i go heavy on the dill and use celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is great, very warming on a cold winters night. Made it this time with roasted sweet potatoes instead of squash, a bit sweeter, bump up the curry to balance flavors. I added roasted Anaheim Chili, diced, to add some heat. smalltowndiverwife, like your idea of roasting squash seeds, I usually do that, coat with a little oil- try sesame oil for a little heat, spread over pan in toaster oven, 350 till they smell good, maybe 10 min. Try this Cucumber Appitizer with the roasted seeds: Slice a cucumber into a bowl (peel skin if tough) Squeeze lime juice over cucumber slices, stir to coat. Arrange single layer of cucumber slices on a plate. Chop a large handful of roasted squash seeds into a coarse crumb, stir in a dash of finely ground sea salt. place a large pinch of chopped seeds on each cucumber slice, and a dash of cayenne pepper, more or less, depending on your heat tolerance. Works well with this soup. Chopped roasted seeds can be used as a topping on the soup, instead of or along with the bacon. Thanks for the recipe Dorrene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This was really good and so easy to make. My husband, toddler and baby all ate it and loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Delicious! No need for salt or bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Wicked yummy - thanks for sharing. I didn't have any condensed milk or broth, so used 2% milk, water, a can of tomatoes with veg bullion (i don't eat meat). I sauteed garlic with onion at the beginning. Didn't run thru food processor cuz I like my soup a bit chunky. It was delish and will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Really, really good. Didn't change a thing except to replace the evaporated milk with half&half. A great do-ahead meal for a fall/winter evening. This one goes in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Wonderful! I did use skim rich milk instead of evaporated. This is thick after you process in the blender, which I prefer, some of you may want to thin it a bit but I don't recommend it. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Lundeen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This is my second year of making this soup. My husband and I cannot get enough of it. My husband is very picky and would not have tried a taste of it were it not for the fact that it was acorn squash I used from his garden. This year, his garden did not produce any acorn squash, so I used a Blue Hubbard squash from my friend's garden, and it tasted just as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This soup is wonderful and well worth trying! I did double the curry (personal preference). I used evaporated skim milk to cut fat. If served without bacon it is 4 pts on WW. Added bonus ... this soup freezes very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Pretty tasty soup and it is an easy recipe. Using a hand blender makes this much easier with less clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States