Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Recipe is great as is. The only thing I didn't have was the evaporated milk, so I used the same amount of buttermilk instead. Made a very rich and creamy soup that was perfect for a cold day. Update: Froze some from the last batch that I made and it freezes well too. I'm about to make a quadruple batch on this cold and rainy day to use up some squash and to fill up the freezer with good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Yum! Instead of puree-ing the soup in batches in my blender, I used my little hand blender/emulsifier and did it all right in the cooking pot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I was working with a pot of fresh chicken broth I'd made for a risotto the night before, so I changed the order around a bit. I nuked 1 acorn squash about 10 minutes til tender and added it to the pot with the spices and about a half cup of skim milk. I left out the flour and used a half teaspoon of celery seed in place of the celery. Then I stuck the immersion blender right in the pot and voila, done! It's obviously a little thinner than this recipe would normally turn out, but with fresh chicken broth, the flavor is just as good. Great basic soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and took it to work for my employees and they raved. Perfect just the way it is written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Loved, loved, loved it! Even my picky eater loved it! I opted out of celery and used celery salt. I left out the cayenne too! We will definitely serve this one up again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA
Living In: Taylor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This soup was sooo delicious. I made exactly as directed except with fat free evap milk and you would never know the difference. High recommended, flavorful and the spices were just right! 3 cups of squash was 1 acorn/danish squash for me. Cut in half, scoop out the seeds and microwave face down on a plate for 15 minutes. Then you can basically peel the skin off (easier than scooping the squash out because the skin is so soft).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Easy to make. Tastes wonderful. Keep the seeds for roasting. My brother said it made a great gravy over the casserole we were enjoying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This recipe was really delicious as is. I baked the squash for 40 min at 350 before adding to the soup mixture and it was perfect. I brought it to work and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Great soup recipe! Not too thick, not too thin and the curry and cayenne powders add a lot of flavor. I altered the recipe slightly--to make it vegetarian, I substituted veggie broth for the chicken broth, veggie bouillon for the chicken bouillon, and removed the bacon entirely. Still turned out great! Also, I used just under a tablespoon of whole wheat flour instead of 2 tablespoons of regular flour. Can't wait for make this again! Acorn squash tip--I used 3 medium to small squashes to get 3 cups mashed. To cook squash, first microwave (after making a few small cuts so the squash doesn't explode!) for 1-2 minutes. Then cut in halves, and microwave again for approx. 3-4 minutes each. The flesh should be very easy to scoop out and mash. You could also bake the halved squashes, but that takes a much longer time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelatoole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I thought this soup was good; it was pretty simple to make. I followed the advice of 2 other reviewers...the person that said to microwave the squash (worked out well; just keep each half in there for at least 10+ minutes each to soften), and another person who added 1 more cup of chicken broth to the mixture. I thought the thickness was great after adding the extra cup; otherwise, it would have been really thick. Adding it made it just thick enough. I thought the recipe was missing something though. I will have to think of something else to add in there. When I do, I will make again :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States