Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Recipe is great as is. The only thing I didn't have was the evaporated milk, so I used the same amount of buttermilk instead. Made a very rich and creamy soup that was perfect for a cold day. Update: Froze some from the last batch that I made and it freezes well too. I'm about to make a quadruple batch on this cold and rainy day to use up some squash and to fill up the freezer with good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Yum! Instead of puree-ing the soup in batches in my blender, I used my little hand blender/emulsifier and did it all right in the cooking pot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I was working with a pot of fresh chicken broth I'd made for a risotto the night before, so I changed the order around a bit. I nuked 1 acorn squash about 10 minutes til tender and added it to the pot with the spices and about a half cup of skim milk. I left out the flour and used a half teaspoon of celery seed in place of the celery. Then I stuck the immersion blender right in the pot and voila, done! It's obviously a little thinner than this recipe would normally turn out, but with fresh chicken broth, the flavor is just as good. Great basic soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and took it to work for my employees and they raved. Perfect just the way it is written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Loved, loved, loved it! Even my picky eater loved it! I opted out of celery and used celery salt. I left out the cayenne too! We will definitely serve this one up again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA
Living In: Taylor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This soup was sooo delicious. I made exactly as directed except with fat free evap milk and you would never know the difference. High recommended, flavorful and the spices were just right! 3 cups of squash was 1 acorn/danish squash for me. Cut in half, scoop out the seeds and microwave face down on a plate for 15 minutes. Then you can basically peel the skin off (easier than scooping the squash out because the skin is so soft).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Easy to make. Tastes wonderful. Keep the seeds for roasting. My brother said it made a great gravy over the casserole we were enjoying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This recipe was really delicious as is. I baked the squash for 40 min at 350 before adding to the soup mixture and it was perfect. I brought it to work and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Great soup recipe! Not too thick, not too thin and the curry and cayenne powders add a lot of flavor. I altered the recipe slightly--to make it vegetarian, I substituted veggie broth for the chicken broth, veggie bouillon for the chicken bouillon, and removed the bacon entirely. Still turned out great! Also, I used just under a tablespoon of whole wheat flour instead of 2 tablespoons of regular flour. Can't wait for make this again! Acorn squash tip--I used 3 medium to small squashes to get 3 cups mashed. To cook squash, first microwave (after making a few small cuts so the squash doesn't explode!) for 1-2 minutes. Then cut in halves, and microwave again for approx. 3-4 minutes each. The flesh should be very easy to scoop out and mash. You could also bake the halved squashes, but that takes a much longer time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelatoole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I thought this soup was good; it was pretty simple to make. I followed the advice of 2 other reviewers...the person that said to microwave the squash (worked out well; just keep each half in there for at least 10+ minutes each to soften), and another person who added 1 more cup of chicken broth to the mixture. I thought the thickness was great after adding the extra cup; otherwise, it would have been really thick. Adding it made it just thick enough. I thought the recipe was missing something though. I will have to think of something else to add in there. When I do, I will make again :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States