Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Very good. My first try at making squash soup. This had much more flavor than I was expecting. I substituted 1% milk and didn't have dill, but it was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Delicious and easy. I didn't have any celery so didn't use any. Used commercial vegetable broth and no bouillon, but still very flavorful. I used 2 average size acorn squash without measuring it and it seemed to be just the right amount. I find cooking the squash in the microwave to be easiest and fastest. Just cut the squash in half, scoop out the seeds, place in microwave cut side down and cook on hi for 10 - 15 min. checking on them every 5 min. I also omitted the bacon. Served it with sauteed asparagus...Delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I didn't have dill weed so I left that out, and I used heavy cream instead of evaporated milk. Otherwise, everything was the same. I thought it was too bland so I added a bunch more cayenne, and some paprika, more curry powder, and a hearty helping of Mrs. Dash. Then it tasted okay, not as bland especially with the bacon to give it some kick. I might make this again, if I could find a way to really spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fishynumber2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Great. I used coconut milk and veggie broth to make it vegan. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
made this for my book club using butternut squash, and everyone raved about it. my family loves it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Yumm-o! Okay I wasnt sure how to tackle the acorn squash, but I knew I didn't want to peel it. So I cut it in half, scooped out the seeds, put it in a bowl with a little water and nuked it, but I can't remember how long. Then all I had to do was scoop it out and when I did that, it was pretty much mashed consistency. One squash was about 3 cups, but it was the smaller of the two that I had. I am sure it was fabulous as written but I did not use butter - instead I used Olive Oil. I used Lo-Sodium Chicken broth mix, and more of those granules for the bouillon. I used 1% milk in place of the evaporated. I also did not use the bacon on top, although that would have been divine. With all these changes, it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Hubby loved this. When I told him what it was (before tasting), he grimaced. Now he wants it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
So easy and very good! This recipe is a keeper! I must have accidentally added an extra dash of cayenne, it was warm but not bad. I also ended up adding some skim milk as it was getting pretty think. And I don't think the bacon adds anything to fantasctic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
yum! so good, i have been making this for over a year now, and it never gets old! i love an excuse to eat bacon! i have used pumpkin many times, and it still tastes the same- delish... i go heavy on the dill and use celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States