Acorn Squash Gnocchi with Parmesan Sage Beurre Blanc Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I'd love to make this, but could someone please tell me what to do with the squash if I don't have a microwave. I'm worried halving it and putting it in the oven will bake it too much since it's supposed to be microwaved whole. I rated 4 stars because it sounds delicious, but there is a lack of information for people who aren't microwave users.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Great recipe for the gnocchi! We used dark beer in the sauce, and it was VERY bitter. We will definitely have the gnocchi again (the recipe made a lot, we froze the rest), but with a different sauce. It took a lot more white flour to make it workable, and you'll have to vary the microwave time for the size of your squash and power of your microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This was delicious and surprisingly easy to make. I just did the gnocchi and made my own sauce. I used the Kitchen Aid to mix the dough. I took it out of the mixer once it was firm but still a little sticky, this took about 1/2 of extra flour. I used a lot of flour on the rolling board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I gave it 4 stars for the way I made this dish. It probably would have been better if I hadnt used frozen squash, but sonce I did it was too wattery, and therefore I had to use a-lot of flour, and it was too dense. Next time I will use fresh squash, or I will strain the frozen squash.It had a really nice flavor in spite of my mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jawjie
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was very good! It was my first time making gnocchi, and it did take much more time than I planned. My squash had to be cooked in the microwave longer than 10 minutes (I took it out after 10, and it was still hard in the middle, put it in for probably another 10). I didn't use the "sage beurre blanc" but instead made a browned butter sage sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jawjie
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I made this recipe mainly because I love gnocchi but am allergic to potatoes. This made an excellent substitute. I gave it 4 stars, because the sauce for us was a take it or leave it kind of thing and not really worth the extra 25 minutes of cook time. Like the other reviewers I used more than the 1 cup of white flour when making the dough. Really, just keep adding flour till you get the texture described in the directions. I will definitely make the gnocchi again but will probably serve with a different sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
The gnocchi itself is great and so simple - thank you! 2nd time I made it, I added a tspn of pumpkin pie spice (blend of ginger, cinn, nutmeg, allspice) to dough. I didn't care for the beurre blanc at all. Next time I heated up butter, sage, pinch of salt/pepper in pan and tossed gnocchi with it - made the gnocchi a little crisp on outside - fantastic and paired well with the pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
These tasted good and were an interesting change of pace. Unfortunately, the whole wheat flour completely overpowered the squash. Semolina flour might be a better choice for letting the squash flavor come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
ohhhhhhhhhhhh my gosh, heavenly!! I didnt have sage so I had to use a bit of rosemary and thyme instead but it still turned out AMAZING. Quite a simple recipe but a bit time consuming--worth it. It took more flour than the recipe says but I did mine all whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Making the gnocchi was much more time consuming than I thought it would be, but turned out great. In forming the dough, 1 cup of white flour was not enough to make the dough workable, I probably used an additional cup or so. There was a slight bitterness to the dish overall, maybe due to the beer in the beurre blanc, and I'm not sure if it was supposed to taste like that. But nonetheless, it was delicious, and my family and I enjoyed it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States