Acorn Squash Gnocchi with Parmesan Sage Beurre Blanc Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
took forever! and not that great. I reinvented the leftovers with sauteed zuchini, tomatoes and pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
The gnocci was good. If you have to disguise squash, this is a good way to do it. I used only white flour and I used about 3.5 cups. The brown butter sauce suggested was good, but not really worth the time it took to cook it. This was a lot of prep, and good not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Destin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I was disappointed that these didnt taste like squash! I even added a bit of sugar to the dough, and some cinnamon to the butter sauce (which did help). I agree that the whole wheat flour is overpowering. These weren't bad, just not as delicious as I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
The gnocchi were great. I skipped the sauce and used a simple alfredo instead. Since others said it was too heavy on the wheat flour and I had semolina flour, I used 1/2 a cup of each. It needed more white flour as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Very time consuming and other than the yummy sauce, it was tastless doughy clumps. Will not try this again. Will try the Squash soup today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I made this on a whim after my son insisted I buy acorn squash. My husband and daughter loved it, but my son ended up dispising it. I liked it, however when I make it again I will not use any whole wheat flour since it seemed to overpower the squash flavour of the gnocchi. I should also mention my husband is an Italian who is quite attatched to his Great Aunt's traditional gnocchi recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Well these were about the ugliest things I have ever made - BUT this recipe makes a very traditional chewy gnocchi that I just love! My dough was still too sticky after 3 cups of flour so as I formed my gnocchi and put them on a plate, then ended up sticking together. So my advice, either spread them out or throw them into your pot of boiling water as you form them. I think the extra flour does take away from the squash flavor but it's still a great way to sneak in some veggies. I didn't make the sauce, but instead make a quick brown butter and sage sauce. Next time I'm going to try homemade tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I felt like a true chef after I made these. They were delicious - and a great way to use acorn squash, which is one of my least favorite vegetables! I make a lot of gnocchi (my mom's Italian), but I'd never incorporated squash into the mix. Next time I'm not going to put quite as much beer in the sauce - I used a Korean beer (don't ask why) and toward the end of dinner I was not as enthusiastic to finish them as I was when I began :( I'll definitely be serving these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Very tasty! Had to add a lot more than 1 cup of white flour to get the right dough consistency, but I think it depends on the size of your squash. My boyfriend and I don't drink beer, so we used apple cider instead and it turned out GREAT. For those without microwaves: Cut the squash in half and remove the seeds. Place it cut side down in a Pyrex or similar pan. Pour boiling water into the Pyrex to 1/4 inch deep. Bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes, flip to cut side up, bake a bit longer until squash is tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I'd love to make this, but could someone please tell me what to do with the squash if I don't have a microwave. I'm worried halving it and putting it in the oven will bake it too much since it's supposed to be microwaved whole. I rated 4 stars because it sounds delicious, but there is a lack of information for people who aren't microwave users.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States