Acorn Squash Gnocchi with Parmesan Sage Beurre Blanc Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made the gnocchi themselves as written, adding (as others have mentioned) more white flower until the dough became workable. I didn't have the ingredients for the sauce, so I just tossed the gnocchi with butter and sage. I wondered, while they were cooking, if they'd be worth the work...they were! Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeangetz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newaygo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I omitted the salt, forgot to add the egg, and used only whole wheat flour when making the gnocchi. For the sauce, I omitted the bouillon, and changed the beer to soy milk. I also added some chopped onion to the sauce. This is delicious! Portion control went out the window when devouring these, they went so quickly! i will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
ohhhhhhhhhhhh my gosh, heavenly!! I didnt have sage so I had to use a bit of rosemary and thyme instead but it still turned out AMAZING. Quite a simple recipe but a bit time consuming--worth it. It took more flour than the recipe says but I did mine all whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Great recipe! Takes a bit of time but easy and it tastes great. The parmesean sage sauce was a little salty (and I like salt) so will likely cut down the salt in the water next time. Still definately worth making! Also, we fed three adults with the suggested serving of 8 so you may need to adjust the serving size if making this for more people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Really easy and yummy. Nice change of pace from potato gnocchi. My husband and I really liked the sauce. Does take a while to make. Good for a lazy Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Making the gnocchi was much more time consuming than I thought it would be, but turned out great. In forming the dough, 1 cup of white flour was not enough to make the dough workable, I probably used an additional cup or so. There was a slight bitterness to the dish overall, maybe due to the beer in the beurre blanc, and I'm not sure if it was supposed to taste like that. But nonetheless, it was delicious, and my family and I enjoyed it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Very good! I only made the gnocchi and did not try the "blanc" just to use up some of my acorns from the garden. I allowed them to dry and then place them in storage bags in the freezer for use all winter. I can't wait to try them as dumplings with chicken. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I didn't try the sauce, but this gnocchi was yummy. Even my 4 year old asks for it, and I have a hard time getting him to eat veggies! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brookenelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Only made the sauce and made plain potato gnocchi. Was delightfully surprised with how well the sauce turned out. Would have wanted it to be a bit thicker, and wish I had fresh parmesan on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fernie, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Review is for the gnocchi only, since I made my own sauce in order to use up some mushrooms and some white wine that were getting old... I thought these tasted good - it's the instructions that are an issue. As others have noted, the amount of flour needed will depend on how big a squash you have. In order to figure out the right proportions, I peeled and cubed my squash before cooking it. I also halved the recipe, so my flour amounts are for just half a squash. I ended up with about 3.25 cups of squash, and had to use 1.5 total cups of flour (50% more than called for). I should have used more. I still wasn't able to roll it into a log after adding the extra flour, but I didn't want the flour to overwhelm the squash, and I was getting hungry and tired of mixing more flour in...so I just scooped up small amounts of the dough in a spoon and used my fingers to push the dough off the spoon into the boiling water. My gnocchi turned out wildly misshapen because the dough was still so sticky, but it worked, they cooked just fine, and they still tasted good. The squash gave them just a hint of sweetness, which I liked. I also liked that these use part whole wheat flour. (For my extra half cup of flour, I used buckwheat instead of more white flour to keep things a little more nutritious - and also because I needed to use it up. Worked great.) So there were a number of good aspects to this gnocchi recipe; the amount of flour was the only issue I had. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States