Acorn Squash Gnocchi with Parmesan Sage Beurre Blanc Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
These tasted good and were an interesting change of pace. Unfortunately, the whole wheat flour completely overpowered the squash. Semolina flour might be a better choice for letting the squash flavor come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
ohhhhhhhhhhhh my gosh, heavenly!! I didnt have sage so I had to use a bit of rosemary and thyme instead but it still turned out AMAZING. Quite a simple recipe but a bit time consuming--worth it. It took more flour than the recipe says but I did mine all whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
The gnocchi itself is great and so simple - thank you! 2nd time I made it, I added a tspn of pumpkin pie spice (blend of ginger, cinn, nutmeg, allspice) to dough. I didn't care for the beurre blanc at all. Next time I heated up butter, sage, pinch of salt/pepper in pan and tossed gnocchi with it - made the gnocchi a little crisp on outside - fantastic and paired well with the pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Making the gnocchi was much more time consuming than I thought it would be, but turned out great. In forming the dough, 1 cup of white flour was not enough to make the dough workable, I probably used an additional cup or so. There was a slight bitterness to the dish overall, maybe due to the beer in the beurre blanc, and I'm not sure if it was supposed to taste like that. But nonetheless, it was delicious, and my family and I enjoyed it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I was excited to try this recipe and as I sit here eating it and I am less than thrilled. I have a few comments: The gnocchi were pretty easy to make, but there really should be a weight for the squash instead of simply "one acorn squash". I think that has a lot to do with the other reviewers having to add more flour. I also added more flour. I can't decide if that made them dense or if they are supposed to be dense! I don't have a garlic press, so I minced it. I would suggest substituting garlic powder, sauteeing it first or putting it in the sauce instead of the gnocchi. Biting into a pocket of raw garlic isn't so appealing. I used the Creamy Sage Butter Sauce, as another reviewer recommended. I'm not impressed by that either. At any rate, I can't stop eating these dense little dumplings. It's not because they are irresistable, I think that my mouth is just trying to figure out what their deal is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I gave it 4 stars for the way I made this dish. It probably would have been better if I hadnt used frozen squash, but sonce I did it was too wattery, and therefore I had to use a-lot of flour, and it was too dense. Next time I will use fresh squash, or I will strain the frozen squash.It had a really nice flavor in spite of my mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This requires time and patience (and way more white flour than called for), but it's fun, tasty and satisfying. I wanted a creamier sauce so I served this with "Creamy Sage Butter Sauce."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Sage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
The gnocci was good. If you have to disguise squash, this is a good way to do it. I used only white flour and I used about 3.5 cups. The brown butter sauce suggested was good, but not really worth the time it took to cook it. This was a lot of prep, and good not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Destin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I didn't try the sauce, but this gnocchi was yummy. Even my 4 year old asks for it, and I have a hard time getting him to eat veggies! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brookenelson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Very good! I only made the gnocchi and did not try the "blanc" just to use up some of my acorns from the garden. I allowed them to dry and then place them in storage bags in the freezer for use all winter. I can't wait to try them as dumplings with chicken. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Cheesy Acorn Squash

Watch how to make this delicious side.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States