Acorn Candy Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Too cute! These are so simple, and leave you kicking yourself saying, "Why didn't I think of these"? I guess that's why it's just such an ingenious little recipe! The best part is eating the ones you don't need for decorating! These are great to put out in candy dishes too. Thanks for yet another great recipe, What's for dinner, mom?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I made these at Thanksgiving to put out with appetizers as a little sweet treat and they were gone within the first half hour!! I used mini Nilla wafers since they are the perfect size for the Kisses. I also subbed peanut butter for the frosting...I thought it made the fact that the Nilla, Kiss, and butterscotch chip were pasted together less noticeable. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilichristianson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburnham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I recommend that if you are using these for cupcake decorations to put them on just prior to serving as the cookie will absorb the moisture from the frosting and become soft. Also, I have found NutterButter Mini cookies that are perfect for these! The tops look textured like an acorn. These are fun and easy for kids to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I loved the way these looked and had to try them when I saw them! I had some butterscotch chips in the freezer and some leftover thick buttercream frosting, so all I had to buy was the kisses and wafers. And, I did get the mini, because they seemed the perfect size. Although, I did not make all 24, I had fun making the ones I did. I know my neice and nephew will like these way better than the acorns they have helped me clean-up in the yard! And, they will be perfect again on some fall cupcakes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
As soon as I saw these, I just knew I had to make them for my Thanksgiving cupcakes! These are not only easy and adorable, but they are yummy too (believe me I 'taste-tested' enough to know, lol)! I like to surprise my guests each year with a new confection and I can't wait to see the look on their faces tomorrow when they see these. Thanks WFDM, for such a cute idea, that I know will be part of many, MANY fall desserts to come! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
YUMMY! I used Nutter Butter Bites in place of vanilla wafer cookies and Reese's Peanut Butter Chips in place of the butterscotch chips. To attach I melted some of each candy and dipped into it so it wouldn't show where it was attached. They were YUMMY! My reason for the change is that I was looking for something peanut butter for my step-father. This recipe is going to make him so happy. The hardest part is keeping Hubby away from them. I know I have to make more! Thanks WFDM for another YUMMY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
These are SOOOOOOO fun! I made them using the almond filled kisses, mini Nutter Butter sandwich cookies (pulled apart) and mini chocolate chips. The kids really liked the design on the Nutter Butters and the chocolate/peanut butter taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Fun and easy. I think I'll try it with peanut butter instead of frosting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
ADORABLE idea! We made these today for a baby shower we're hosting tomorrow (Get it? Acorns because they're adding to the family tree.). Thanks for such a brilliant recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Grandkids, ages 3-7, LOVED making these on Thanksgiving. I always try to have a craft for them, and this was so much fun! Not too hard for them at all. I let them each have their own ziplock baggie of icing with a tiny hole cut in the bottom edge for piping out the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candy Cane Cookies II

Candy cane-shaped Christmas cookies decorated with crushed peppermint candies.

Delicious Matzo Candy

See how to make amazing candy from matzo!

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States