Acini di Pepe Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
I have made this salad with a few alterations that make this recipe the bomb! Substitute the flour, and use 1 heaping tablespoon of corn starch. Once the pasta and the liquid mixture have been made wait until custardy mixture and pasta cool to room temperature. Once custard is room temperature add in the whip topping, until thouroughly blended. Then add the marshmellows, pasta, pineapple and mandarin oranges. I omit the cherries altogether. Whalla, I much better way of combining this salad with creamier results! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
Around here we call this "frog eye" salad It is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
I used Orzo pasta instead of the acini de pepe and it was wonderful, left out the marshmellows since we don't like to much sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2001
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RATHBUN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2001
I made this twice and both times it was a hit! Everyone who has tasted this loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
I have one word to describe this recipe... FABULOUS!!! The recipe made a huge bowl full and I was wondering how we were ever going to finish all of it. It was not hard. That was a few days ago and today I made another batch. I found it very kid friendly and the ingredients were incredibly easy to find in my grocery store. Thank you for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Haney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
Very good! My husband usually won't eat the marshmallow type salads and he really likes this one! Good as a dessert too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
Long time favorite...lost my old recipe. This one replaced it wonderfully. Takes a little time to set up, but very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
I doubled the recipe for a block party and was shocked by the quantity it made. The serving size was double what I would have expected. I used lite cool whip to cut some of the calories. It tasted great and everyone seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
This is an excellent recipe. I am so glad I found it here on allrecipes.com because I had it at a party years ago, and just thought of it the other day for a summer picnic! I'm going to keep this one in a safe place. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States