Acini di Pepe Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
I have made this salad with a few alterations that make this recipe the bomb! Substitute the flour, and use 1 heaping tablespoon of corn starch. Once the pasta and the liquid mixture have been made wait until custardy mixture and pasta cool to room temperature. Once custard is room temperature add in the whip topping, until thouroughly blended. Then add the marshmellows, pasta, pineapple and mandarin oranges. I omit the cherries altogether. Whalla, I much better way of combining this salad with creamier results! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
I loved this salad, be careful, it makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
My family loves this! I took it to a potluck with friends, and they loved it too! I had to use orzo since I couldn't find acini di pepe in my 3 local supermarkets (I live in Hilo, Hawaii). I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKUKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This recipe was a great hit for Christmas dinner. I cut down the sugar to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
This salad is great. I followed someone elses lead and changed flour to cornstarch and cooled custard mixture to room temp then added cool whip. Easy to make. Fruity and refreshing. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
It must be me, since most other reviewers loved this recipe. I couldn't get past the texture. For me, this type of pasta doesn't work in a fruit salad. Also I believe the addition of marshmallows puts this way over the top on sweetness. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Wow, what a treat!! I served this at a large family gathering and everyone loved it!! I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anderswin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Always a favorite to serve at home or to take to gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Connellsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I have been making this recipe for years. I just don't add marshmallows. Another recipe that is very similar to this is Rosa Marina Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
very good, this is a great pot-luck dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States