Acini di Pepe Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
My family loves this! I took it to a potluck with friends, and they loved it too! I had to use orzo since I couldn't find acini di pepe in my 3 local supermarkets (I live in Hilo, Hawaii). I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKUKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
Ancini de pepe is the favorite dessert from aunt peg. Everyone asks me to bring it. Just a little variation, use colored marshmellows instead of plain. The kids think it is great and it adds a little more color. I also add mixed fruit and if it's being eaten right away, apple chunks (with skin) are great and give the salad a bit of a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
This is an excellent recipe. I am so glad I found it here on allrecipes.com because I had it at a party years ago, and just thought of it the other day for a summer picnic! I'm going to keep this one in a safe place. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
I doubled the recipe for a block party and was shocked by the quantity it made. The serving size was double what I would have expected. I used lite cool whip to cut some of the calories. It tasted great and everyone seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
I have made this salad with a few alterations that make this recipe the bomb! Substitute the flour, and use 1 heaping tablespoon of corn starch. Once the pasta and the liquid mixture have been made wait until custardy mixture and pasta cool to room temperature. Once custard is room temperature add in the whip topping, until thouroughly blended. Then add the marshmellows, pasta, pineapple and mandarin oranges. I omit the cherries altogether. Whalla, I much better way of combining this salad with creamier results! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I have tried many recipes in the past few months with much success. The reviews were so good, I looked forward to it. I made this Christmas Eve and was very disappointed. No one liked it, inclduing me. They expected it to taste like Hawaiian Salad - and the pasta turned them off! I'm sorry to say that I will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
I took the salad to a church potluck and everybody loved it! I did not add the marshmallows, though, thinking it was sweet enough as it was. I will definitely be making this salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
tastes disgusting i hate them yuk yuk yuk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
Long time favorite...lost my old recipe. This one replaced it wonderfully. Takes a little time to set up, but very easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2001
Very good! My husband usually won't eat the marshmallow type salads and he really likes this one! Good as a dessert too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States