Acini di Pepe Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
My mom has been making this since I was a kid. I recently made it for my baby shower, using the colored mini marshmallows and stirring the maraschino cherries (halved) in. It had a nice pastel color to it and my mother-in-law now requests it at every holiday meal! Great recipe! (P.S. I've also tried adding a can of tropical fruit salad that I slightly blitzed in the food processor, and it turned out really well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Montana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
This is my absolute favorite side dish! It really is the kind of thing you either love or hate because of the texture. We always ask my mom to make this for bridal/baby showers, or holidays like Easter or 4th of July and people always ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I served this to week-end guests as breakfast brunch dish. It was a big hit. Everyone wanted the recipe. I added 1/2 C. coconut, and deleted the cherries. It is surprising how much it makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
This is the only salad with fruit that my husband will actually request - delicious! This recipe is a little different than the one I had gotten from my grandma, which included 3 eggs instead of 2. I also have never chilled the pasta overnight before adding the other ingredients. It works just as well to mix it all together and chill it for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACYCB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charles City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
It must be me, since most other reviewers loved this recipe. I couldn't get past the texture. For me, this type of pasta doesn't work in a fruit salad. Also I believe the addition of marshmallows puts this way over the top on sweetness. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
Wow, what a treat!! I served this at a large family gathering and everyone loved it!! I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anderswin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
This recipe is wonderful. It was a hit with the fussiest children and adults alike. I found it to be easy to prepare and a treat to share. A definate to make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This is perfection. I love the dessert quality of this pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
I was not overly impressed. It tasted okay at first, but knowing that you're eating pasta made this unappealing. If you can replace the pasta with something else, I'd try it again. The rest of the ingredients work well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
This salad is great. I followed someone elses lead and changed flour to cornstarch and cooled custard mixture to room temp then added cool whip. Easy to make. Fruity and refreshing. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States