Acini di Pepe Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I made this for my daughter's birthday party and out of about 30 people, only 3 liked it, and no one LOVED it. I was so disappointed, as I've been wanting to try this for a long time. The pasta gave it such a strange texture (and I love tapioca). None of the kids or teenagers liked it at all. It was a nice presentation, but the taste left much to be desired. Without the pasta, it may have been better. And it sure does make a TON!!! I hated wasting all that food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I LOVED this recipe! My parents both loved it as well. My 2 children (17 & 10) & my husband were not so crazy about it, though. My husband's only complaint was he didn't like the marshmallows in it. I think it is great & the little pasta balls remind me of tapioca pudding. Out of the 6 of us that tried it, 1/2 liked it, but the 1/2 that liked it REALLY liked it a lot! It does make a ton, so it is great to take to potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
So good and so simple! Love it! Some changes I made: no marshmallows, and I used fruit cocktail instead of mandarin oranges. I didn't use marachino cherries, either, except on top. I also added 1/2 cup of walnuts and pecans (mixed, whatever I had on hand) and that was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I love this recipe. My uncle's wife used to make this when I was a kid and I seem to have forgotten about it until I saw it here. This recipe is as good as I remembered. I did make a few changes: I added some of the cherry liquid which made the salad a pretty pink color and gave a nice cherry taste as well; I used pineapple tidbits because I like larger pieces of pineapple and I stirred the cherries right into the salad. This is a very different and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I really loved this salad. It does make a lot, though. I love the texture of the pasta with the cooked egg mixture. I can understand it isn't for everybody (my husband wasn't a huge fan), but I really liked it. Great summery taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
I just served this at a picnic for adults and small children. It was a hit! Wonderful combination of flavors, and it makes a ton! I plan on using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Really good. My fiance was a little skeptical, he thought it was going to be savory like other pasta salads, but he was really suprised when he tried it. The first thing he said was that it was amazing. The marshmellows are my favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Princeton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I made this for a work pot luck. I even doubled it, since I wasn't sure how much I was going to get. Didn't need to do that! It makes enough as a single batch. But everyone loved it and more than one person asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This is so refreshing that it makes an awesome summertime treat. Although you'll crave it all year long! The flavor is great but what adds to it is the texture of the tiny acini di pepe balls mixed with the puffiness of the marshmallows and the burst of juciness as you bite into the pineapple chunks and mandarin oranges. This is a family favorite for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
I just made this last night and finished it up this morning and it is WONDERFUL! You have to get past the pasta and sweetness thing for some people but it is a great combo. I left out the marshmallows and cherries and added a bit more Cool Whip and it's great. I'm taking it to my parents house this evening to make them try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States