Acini di Pepe Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
I just made this last night and finished it up this morning and it is WONDERFUL! You have to get past the pasta and sweetness thing for some people but it is a great combo. I left out the marshmallows and cherries and added a bit more Cool Whip and it's great. I'm taking it to my parents house this evening to make them try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
I loved this salad, be careful, it makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Always a favorite to serve at home or to take to gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Connellsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This recipe was a great hit for Christmas dinner. I cut down the sugar to 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This has been a long time favorite in our family. On the Ancini di Pepe box the company calls the recipe "Frog Eye Salad", much to the amusement of my grandchildren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
This is my most requested recipe for fruit salads. Anytime I take it anywhere, everyone loves it. I like this version of the recipe better than the one on the Acini di pepe pasta box (frog eye salad). Try this one out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
To a previous reviewer: I live in Kansas and used to live in the Washington DC area, near Virginia. In both places people have loved this salad/dessert. Please, don't be discouraged by the very rude comments made by the people you served it to! I just can't imagine people who would do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
My mother has been making this recipe since I was a kid and my entire family loves it. We have always called it frog eyes salad (scary name I know). Since it is such a hit with the family I made it for everyone at work for a big potluck we had and it was a total flop. With the exception of maybe 1 or 2 people I was given the hardest time for months. It is definitely a love or hate dish. Better left in the family if you ask me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This is the best salad ever, my mother always made it whe well all would get together. Never knew the name of it so we called it "Grandma Salad"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
My mom has been making this since I was a kid. I recently made it for my baby shower, using the colored mini marshmallows and stirring the maraschino cherries (halved) in. It had a nice pastel color to it and my mother-in-law now requests it at every holiday meal! Great recipe! (P.S. I've also tried adding a can of tropical fruit salad that I slightly blitzed in the food processor, and it turned out really well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Montana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States