Acini di Pepe Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I think this is WAY too sweet -- I made the mistake of adding the colored marshmallows - it looked like an easter bunny threw up on the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RavinSunkiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hancock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I have been making this for years and people always request me to bring it. I am making it today for a huge family reunion tomorrow. Sometimes I will throw in a couple cans of drained fruit cocktail or tropical fruit. Never have added coconut. You must refrigerate overnight the pasta and sauce. Quit using cool whip because of the nasty they put in it. I use heavy whip cream now and it is delicious. Much better in my opinion. I keep 1/3 of it set aside and do not add marshmallows to that bowl for those who do not like that much sweetness. The rest I add the colored marshmallows to. The kids love that one. We also have to keep some at home because there is never any left to take back home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I always make this for the 4th of July for famiily pinic. I am begged to bring this. I however do not use marshmellows or the cherries in this. I did at one time added walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I took this to a BBQ. Everybody loved it! People were going back for thirds and fourths! I omitted the cherries, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly as written. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2 Blonde Cubs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This is the second time I have made this. My mom loves it the rest could do with out. It was OK. Will make again just for mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencerport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
i forgot about this until i saw the pasta in the store. i could eat this like ice cream and its better for you. it makes a lot and keeps well in fridge.i hve sub peaches for pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I had this for the first time at a wedding over the summer and I just had to make it myself. I've made it at least four times and my family begs for it at every holiday get together! I left out the marshmallows but other then that... its just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champlain, New York, USA
Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This turned out great! I added strawberries and seedless red grapes instead of the cherries. I also only chilled the pasta/custard for 6 hours instead of overnight and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmagnolia98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
yummmm, we've eaten this for years.Every gathering in Utah has a version of this,you can even get it at the groc store already made.I love it as is,made in two steps overnight only substitute a can of drained pineapple tidbits for the cherries.Polite society somewhere may call it Acini di Pepe salad but us casual folks know it as Frog eye salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Wonderful recipe! I didn't change a thing, and this salad was enjoyed by the ladies in my office. Good stuff, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States