Acini di Pepe Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I have been making this salad for years and it is a favorite at family gatherings. I use a scant 1/2 cup sugar and 1 cup heavy cream instead of the frozen stuff. You won't believe the difference it makes! I also omit the cherries and add 2 cups red and/or green grapes, cut in half. I have always used pineapple tidbits as it gives the salad more texture. Note: using colored marshmallows would totally change the flavor of the salad and not in a good way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I was searching for the original recipe that was on the box of pasta. ThatFrog Eye Salad recipe calls for a can of drained fruit cocktail instead of the Mandarine oranges and does not call for the cherries. It is my daughter-in-law's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I can't stop eating it!! Think I'll add halved red grapes next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
One of my favorite recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Love this recipe. This is similar to my Mom's recipe - which we have loved for decades. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I liked the concept of this salad but I thought it would be too sweet with whipped topping and marshmallows. I omitted the marshmallows and used sour cream instead of the whipped topping. Yum. I bet it would taste just as good if it was mixed with a nice creamy greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I enjoyed this recipe. Very tasty. I omitted the marshmellows and added red seedless grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Love love,{ leave marshmallows out!] SOOOO Gooddddd
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah
Home Town: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Love this my mom made this for years! We subsitute the cherries for fresh grapes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mothercluckings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was good, but for my taste there was too much whipped topping. I only added about 6oz. and that was too much. I also left out the marshmallows since I don't care for them and I substituted grapes for the cherries. If I do make this again, I think I'll only use 4 oz. of the whipped topping and see if I like it better. Or I might use real whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States