Acapulco Margarita Grouper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
I thought this recipe was great. In fact, I cooked it twice in one week; the second time over chicken. The marinade was tangy and I loved the texture of the salsa topping. The ingredients are a little expensive, but once you buy the two bottles of liquor, you may use them again and again for this recipe, or cocktails, hehe. For the reviewer that stated that the fish was dry, you shouldn't marinate it for longer than the recipe states (and then give a bad review). Fruit juices and/or liquor are known to "cook up" fish, such as ceviche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
This has become a weekly favorite. I live in rural Mo, having moved here from southern Ca. Adding variety to the standard fried-meat-and-potatoes local fare can be challenging. This recipe fits the bill. You'll never see a grouper in any of *our* local grocerey stores, but we do occasionally get talapia (sp) and that works well. We also also use it on bonless chicken breasts and its wonderful! Its a great meal on a hot day, because its light and the chilled salsa sets it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
We used Sea Bass and this recipe was AWESOME!!!! Like others, we dod not have Orange Liquer, and skipped it (based on the feedback to NOT use OJ - which we were going to). We also baked at 350 deg for about 25 minutes. We personally liked it better with the salsa. This was sooooooeasy and so darn good - gourmet with 5 stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
The only fish I normaly eat is sushi because I don't like cooked fish that much. But I have to say this is the best ever. I substituted Red Snapper and Scallions for the cilantro. All I can say is WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Made this, but omitted the salsa.....was EXCELLENT. My husband said it tasted like it was from a restaurant. I also basted it with a little butter on the grill. The person that gave it a bad review must have marinated it too long, fish will "cook" itself if left in any citric acid for too long. They said they did it the night before........good lord that would've turned it to mush or ruined it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
I used some fresh amberjack from our trip to Islamorada. This was a big hit and we will serve it again. Have shared this with others. Served grilled corn on the cob from my freezer full of local produce. With a salad with key lime vinaigrette, AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALPURV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
I made this recipe for about 30 people and turned even the biggest "seafood hater" into a fan! I left out the cilantro and don't feel the recipe suffered without it. I would advise making a little extra marinade since it adds so much flavor and keeps the fish and the salsa moist and flavorful. Thanks Bill, for a recipe worthy of even the best cookbook!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Mmm, this is one of my favorites! It tastes like it is from a restaurant. Definitely company worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
This is excellent. 2nd time I've made it. This time I used Grand Marnier, organge roughy, red onion, fresh tomato and basal from the garden. It is now part of my recipes. Make this, you won't be disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This was a very tasty fish dish. It was like something you would get at a restaurant. Did not use the orange liquer as I didn't have any. I think the salsa was a lot, so next time I might scale it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jalapeno and Cucumber Margarita

Spicy & refreshing, this amazing marg’s infused with hot pepper & cool cucumber.

Margarita Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake the perfect margarita.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States