Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Today is May 13, 2014 and I'm looking out at snow here in the Central mountains of New Mexico. Had a few Golden Yukon potatoes that needed cooking and so I picked this recipe for a not quite spring yet bit if comfort. I followed the recipe as posted but halved the amount of bacon and augmented the grease with olive oil to bring to measure. Pretty easy to follow and delicious to eat. Pair with a bottle of Bass beer, a chunky corner of bread and snuggle in. Tomorrow it's supposed to be 75!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I made this recipe for Mother's Day for the first time, and it was a hit! I followed the recipe exactly, and it was perfect. Make sure and add enough salt and pepper to it, as it will taste a bit bland if not added. People in my family who usually do not like soup loved it, which was a big deal! This soup goes perfectly with homemade rolls, like the "quick yeast rolls" which I made to go with it! I would recommend this recipe to anyone, cold or hot weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Anthony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
By itself it would be rather plain so I put two recipes together using this one and another I found on pinterest. I decided to add 1 cup half and half and 2 cans of cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of celery. I did this in place of their "heavy cream mixture". Otherwise everything was a great base to make the soup with, I did not puree my potatoes I like mine to be chunks and I also added shredded cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Awesome. I added more garlic and a little celery seed plus white pepper to my tasting. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This is by far the best potato soup I have tried. However I did try to lighten it up a bit as my family is use to eating lower fat/salt foods. I used half and half instead of cream , reduced salt bacon and margarine instead of butter. Even my picky four year old will eat this and ask for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Fantastic soup, quite thick so great comfort food for those cold days. I did not have cilantro so unfortunately had to skip, I added a couple of shakes of dry marjoram leaves. Will definitely make again, will try the cilantro next time. One member in our family does not like thick soups, we added heated milk at time of serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Very easy and so tasty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I gave this 5 stars because I had to make some changes (my son can't have milk or soy). It was SO good, but with my changes, probably a 4-4.5 star. I'm sure that, as written, it's so much better. I didn't have bacon, so replaced the bacon & butter with coconut oil, and the cream with coconut milk. Even still it was SO delicious. My husband commented that it would make a fabulous base for chowder. When we re-heated the leftovers the next day we added a bunch of frozen corn and that was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
First I read all of the reviews. Instead of onion I used a Leek.(first time I ever used one) I used chicken broth but I did add 2 packets of Swanson Chicken Flavor Boost. I used parsley instead of cilantro and tarragon. I did feel this could use a little more flavor (that's why I only gave it 4 stars) so I'm wondering if the tarragon and cilantro would have been good in the mixture. I crumbled up the bacon right before serving and put into the soup. I left some reserve for topping the soup in our bowls plus I sprinkled shredded cheese and sliced green onion, so good! The green onion gave it a little more flavor. I did not puree it, I didn't feel it needed it. My 11 yr old only added more crumbled bacon to the top of his and he LOVED it! He's very picky. He's the reason I made this soup, he loves potato soup! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States