Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Made this tonight. We loved it. It can be a little bland but I add hot sauce to mine so I didn't notice it much. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made the mistake of cutting the recipe in half because only my daughter and I were home and I thought 8 servings would be too much.....HUGE MISTAKE!!!! This soup is AWESOME. However, I used ham cubes instead of bacon and leeks in place of the onions. The soup was full of flavor and my daughter and I are fighting over the last bowl! Will definitely cook it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Beats all other potato soups I've ever had and all the chain restaurant recipes! I've made it twice now in the past 2-months and its easy to replicate the good results time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Not sure what I did wrong here. I followed the recipe exactly when it came to making the cream mixture. I had to make it 3 times before it came out right. The first two times I made the mixture it came out clumpy and like dough no matter how much I stirred. The final 3rd time I added milk and took the pan off the heat. I threw in the bacon and kept adding milk while stirring like crazy. It finally came out right so I just added the potatoes as I had way too many and mixed it together while simmering. Flavors were good. However I doubt I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Currently eating this with kids.soup is very thin, even after making and extra rue, and my soup turned very brown. It has a decent flavor, but won't re make this dish again. There are better and faster versions of this soup. This took an hour and a half to make, not the quick fourty minute dish I thought it would be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This soup was excellent! Perfect comfort food when paired with a crusty French bread. I think it would be great with other vegetables added to it or ham or kielbasa. No need to purée at the end-just a potato masher will do the job. Thank you for am excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supermom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Amazing recipe! I substituted thinly sliced stew beef for the bacon and sautéed the onions, celery, garlic, and beef in about 1/8 cup of evoo. The rest of the recipe I left as is and this is by far one of the best potato soups I have ever tasted! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This soup turned out delicious! I had to make two modifications based on what I had on hand. I didn't have any bacon so I used a 1/4 cup butter in place of the bacon grease. I only had skim milk so I used that instead of heavy cream. I was fully prepared to add some sour cream in at the end for some extra creaminess but it really didn't need it so I didn't. I loved the flavor of the tarragon in this soup. If it's this delicious without bacon and heavy cream I know it's gotta be amazing with them, so next time I will make this exactly as written for a treat. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallory825

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe and a very delicious soup. it is a comfort food in my home...great for those cold nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States