Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I used 6 potatoes, 1 onion,3 cloves of garlic, 1/2 package of bacon, 3 packets of chicken bouillon, 1 cup of milk, 3 large spoons of butter and flour dice and brown bacon, strain all grease, fry onion then garlic, then add potatoes, bouillon w/ 4 cups of water and boil for about 15 min in separate pot, milt butter, add flour, whisk in flour, add to cooked soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I really loved this, and my picky kids liked it. The only change I would make is that next time I will add some instant mashed potatoes to thicken it. Also, I didn't measure the thyme (my fault) so the thyme flavor was a little strong. Overall, a great recipe that I will use again this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I combined this with several other potato soup recipes and made it my own, but this was the best one I found and the recipe I followed most closely. I didn't have that much bacon and I had no celery, but I added some green peppers finely chopped which did help. I substituted half milk half/sour cream for heavy cream and it turned out well. I let it simmer and reduce a bit until it got to desired thickness. I still found it to be a bit brothy, so I slightly mashed it with a potato masher. This really helped thicken it up and add to the creaminess! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Made this tonight. We loved it. It can be a little bland but I add hot sauce to mine so I didn't notice it much. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made the mistake of cutting the recipe in half because only my daughter and I were home and I thought 8 servings would be too much.....HUGE MISTAKE!!!! This soup is AWESOME. However, I used ham cubes instead of bacon and leeks in place of the onions. The soup was full of flavor and my daughter and I are fighting over the last bowl! Will definitely cook it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Beats all other potato soups I've ever had and all the chain restaurant recipes! I've made it twice now in the past 2-months and its easy to replicate the good results time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Not sure what I did wrong here. I followed the recipe exactly when it came to making the cream mixture. I had to make it 3 times before it came out right. The first two times I made the mixture it came out clumpy and like dough no matter how much I stirred. The final 3rd time I added milk and took the pan off the heat. I threw in the bacon and kept adding milk while stirring like crazy. It finally came out right so I just added the potatoes as I had way too many and mixed it together while simmering. Flavors were good. However I doubt I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Currently eating this with kids.soup is very thin, even after making and extra rue, and my soup turned very brown. It has a decent flavor, but won't re make this dish again. There are better and faster versions of this soup. This took an hour and a half to make, not the quick fourty minute dish I thought it would be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This soup was excellent! Perfect comfort food when paired with a crusty French bread. I think it would be great with other vegetables added to it or ham or kielbasa. No need to purée at the end-just a potato masher will do the job. Thank you for am excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Supermom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Amazing recipe! I substituted thinly sliced stew beef for the bacon and sautéed the onions, celery, garlic, and beef in about 1/8 cup of evoo. The rest of the recipe I left as is and this is by far one of the best potato soups I have ever tasted! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States