Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Not bad! Wouldn't call it stellar but pretty good! I halved the recipe and substituted a leek for the onion, just to use it up. I didn't have tarragon or cilantro so used about 1/2tsp of italian seasoning, and blended with an immersion blender but left some chunks. Would probably try again and follow to the T to see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Great comfort food. My kids really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Very good potato soup. My husband loved it! When I make it again, I will add some cheese to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Delicious! I didn't have any tarragon so I mashed up a little anise seed and added some oregano. I want to have another bowl so badly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne Gillette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Perfect weather for this great soup. Sautéed onion and garlic in butter. Used bacon bits and sour cream instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
A very good and hearty soup recipe. Not a dieters dream soup though. This one sticks to your bones, Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tea Memoris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Great taste but really takes too long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
The cilantro gave this a nice twist, and it was a delicious, easy soup. I did serve topped with cheese. The only issue I had was my fault, I wasn'twatching the potatoes closely enough and I overcooked . When I went to puree, the soup came out a little runny. I'll watch more carefully next time, but therewill ddefinitely be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I make this soup (freezes well if you're making extra) all the time for my boyfriend and I! I use gold russet potatoes with the skin on for texture on those that don't get blended, I find it also cut down the cooking time. I also doubled the garlic and tarragon portion since we love lots of flavor! I also prefer ham chunks vs bacon. I used leftover ham from Christmas and it was mouth watering. Also a great way to use up leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJ Cuzzacrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Robert Waters
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I am not much of a soup guy, but this recipe was indeed absolutely delicious! We are trying to cut cholesterol so we used turkey bacon, subbed half & half for the heavy cream, and used butter flavored Crisco instead of real butter. We used red taters too... Might use just a tiny bit less tarragon next time. There WILL be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Waters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States