Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Spare the flour, ugh! Add a few extra potatoes instead. Seriously do NOT like cilantro so used fresh chopped parsley and/or chives. Lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suni McMath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This was so quick and easy to make. I've always wanted a quick and easy potato soup recipe. My family loves potatoes, but I'm not a big fan. I enjoyed this soup. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I make a similar soup to this. I add celery leaves along with the celery stalks and I add chopped broccoli. Replace the heavy cream with sour cream and it adds a nice tang to the soup. Serve with small cubes of cheese or purchased cheese crumbles. A family favorite for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I've made a soup like this for decades and it's the best. However, it's even better if a 14.5 oz.can of creamed corn is added to it, AND right before serving, add a tablespoon or so of red wine vinegar. Just heightens the flavors a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Delish! Loved it! Tarragon and cilantro make it so unique! I made the following healthy changes...turkey bacon. Canola oil to cook onions in. Instead of a butter {fat} based rue I poured the half n half into the stock pot then after cooking stirred in instant mashed potato until it was as thick as I wanted it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This recipe was KILLER GOOD!!! I followed it exactly as written and it was perfect! I would not change a thing. It did however take a lot longer than the suggested 40 min, but it was well worth the wait! Great comfort food!! Will make this again and again!!! Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kanela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
One of the better potato soup recipes I've tried. Took a lot longer than 40 minutes to make. Fair amount of prep work. I will try to lighten this up for future batches. I made it for a high calorie dinner for my underweight son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRETCHAD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I literally just finished the cooking this recipe. It is sitting on the stove as we speak. My boyfriend had a tooth extracted this morning and he loves potato soup so I searched the internet for "top rated potato soup recipe." I came across 3 recipes and found this one with over a remarkable 1000 reviews and a 4.5 star rating. I had a winner. I just finished adding a touch of salt & pepper and already this soup tastes amazing. Honestly, I have never had a recipe that called for tarragon and I can definitely taste the flavor and like it. Not to mention the 3TBS of cilantro which my BF is also crazy for. I followed this recipe exact to what is given didn't add/substitute one thing. It's a great recipe and I am definitely going to have to keep it in the arsenal. Thanks so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Very tasty. I cook them til it's a bit thicker of a soup. Add cheese and green onions on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Variation: For the thickener use some of the bacon grease instead of butter. Add bacon last. Use dill instead of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States