Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Just made this soup, and its a hit! My husband said "you had me at the name", and it really lives up to it. I "lightened" it a bit by not using the full pound of bacon, and leaving very little bacon grease in the pan to sauté the onions and celery, and using milk instead of cream at the then, but it was still awesome! Its the first time I have ever had potato soup that I liked. We are going to try it next time by adding some shrimp, it has a great chowder flavor. Also used chives instead of cilantro because that was what I had fresh in the garden, and it was dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Just finished my first pot of this recipe, following it exactly as written, although have not puréed the half of it yet, and may not since the cream addition made the broth thick and substantial. Husband, a real potato lover said it was "good, not great." I liked it about 4 stars worth, and averaged the two ratings to 3 stars . Because of the very high fat content, may not make it more than once a year, however! Probably the fattiest, richest, soup I've ever made, but nice balance of flavors within it. Do not feel it needs cheese as a topping, but maybe a few scallions to "pretty" it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I had to deviate from the recipe just a little, but it was still amazing. My family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
excellent, but too high in fat, Need to make a light version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I liked this recipe. Will make again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Love love love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Love the flavor! Easy, but I made quite the mess. Added some green onions before I served. Will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Cherry Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Great base recipe, however I made a few simple changes. I made the bacon, but didn't use as directed in the first step of the recipe I set aside and added later. I combined the celery, onion and garlic in a pot and cooked for 3-4 minutes then added the potatoes and chicken stock and allowed to cook until the potatoes were tender. In the next step I combined the butter, flour, heavy whipping cream and substituted the tarragon and cilantro with 1 1/2 TSP of Rosemary then combined it with the potato mixture. No need to puree the potatoes just a few simple passes with the potato masher worked just fine. I then added in the bacon to the mixture and allowed to simmer for another 5 minutes. Before the last 3 minutes of simmering I added 3/4 jar of Cheese Whiz and 1/2 cup of Sharp Cheddar cheese (shredded). My husband and 2 very picky boys LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This is the best potato soup recipe I've made. Followed the recipe as written but added white pepper and salt , and I also added a little more heavy cream to the flour mixture. Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monimoni75
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I made this for the first time and loved it! Thanks for the suggestion to cook the bacon and crumble in on top of the soup, instead of cooking it in the soup. I did change it a little. I used kale instead of cilantro. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States