Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I just made this last weekend for my husband and I and my daughter and her boyfriend. Everyone loved it! We all had really big bowls of it and then my daughter and her boyfriend cleaned the pot out! My husband has requested more for tomorrow! Time to head to the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
An super recipe - one of the best for an excellent soup in its own right, or as a base for the more adventuresome. I've done this with sour cream, varied the herbs a bit (try some dill or oregano), used vegetable stock rather than chicken, etc. You can experiment without ruining this one! But if you just put this soup in front of your guests, you'll garner lots of ooohs and aaahs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This is my favorite Potato soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Swizzle
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was a great family recipe, only change I made was 3lbs of bacon and added mushrooms. The whole family loved it and even my 4 year old who is the pickiest eater in the world had seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I thought this recipe was very good, with the exception of the tarragon. I thought it was overpowering. I may make it again, but I would substitute fresh thyme for the tarragon. I also added a splash of sherry at end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Just made this soup, and its a hit! My husband said "you had me at the name", and it really lives up to it. I "lightened" it a bit by not using the full pound of bacon, and leaving very little bacon grease in the pan to sauté the onions and celery, and using milk instead of cream at the then, but it was still awesome! Its the first time I have ever had potato soup that I liked. We are going to try it next time by adding some shrimp, it has a great chowder flavor. Also used chives instead of cilantro because that was what I had fresh in the garden, and it was dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Just finished my first pot of this recipe, following it exactly as written, although have not puréed the half of it yet, and may not since the cream addition made the broth thick and substantial. Husband, a real potato lover said it was "good, not great." I liked it about 4 stars worth, and averaged the two ratings to 3 stars . Because of the very high fat content, may not make it more than once a year, however! Probably the fattiest, richest, soup I've ever made, but nice balance of flavors within it. Do not feel it needs cheese as a topping, but maybe a few scallions to "pretty" it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I had to deviate from the recipe just a little, but it was still amazing. My family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
excellent, but too high in fat, Need to make a light version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I liked this recipe. Will make again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States