Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I thought the recipe was amazing but I did not follow it exactly. I did my own thing. I sauteed the onion, celery and garlic in virgin olive oil and 2tsp of butter. I used four large sweet potatoes instead. I used vegetable broth and added one teaspoon of chicken bouillon for flavor. I made my own heavy cream (1/3 cup of butter melted and I added 3/4cup of soymilk to it). I didn't have and tarragon so I looked up a substitute and found that I could use marjoram instead since I had that on hand. Lastly since I am a vegetarian I used vegetarian backon bits and stirred them into the soup instead of the actual bacon. Sounds like a lot but everything was done in the 40mins like the original recipe. My husband and 13 month old loved it. Oh and we topped our bowls with some shredded cheddar cheese. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe is soo good. A lot to do but worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This is sooooooo yummy and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This is wonderful! I did leave out the tarragon and cilantro. I added extra salt, Cheddar cheese, chicken (baked in the oven) and corn. I will definitely keep this in my Pinterest account to make again! It did take about 2- 2 1/2 hours to make but it's worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Added some diced ham for a fantastic soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
made this soup today, excellent, I added carrots also to it. and thickened it with a little instant mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Loved this! It made enough for a dinner and lunch for my fiance and I. Definitely not "waistline friendly," but that's what makes it so good - rich and filling. Hit the spot (and then some) on a -15c day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This recipe was great. I did however lack quite a few of the ingredients so I made quite a few substitutes that worked out great! In the second step I used skim milk with a dollop of sour cream and about 1/8 C of grated Romano cheese (for extra flavor boost). I also only had chicken broth so I added about 2 Tbs of chicken bullion to give it a richer flavor. Basil replaced the tarragon and of course plenty of salt and pepper added in slowly between the different steps. Even with all that it turned out great and my picky 8 year old ate it up! Will definitely save this recipe and make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States