Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I made this but did a few modifications. I did not have Tarragon but used an Italian seasoning mix instead. The Italian seasoning had Tarragon, dried basil leaves, marjoram, oregano, and rosemary in it. Also, used dried cilantro as I did not have fresh. I used Bacon Salt with a bit of Sea Salt. The last thing I did was not Puree anything as I think the hearty texture looks and taste great. It came out REALLY GOOD! I believe the different salts were a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rexy23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Way too much potatoes! I would have used less potatoes for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I made this recipe with Lactaid milk because my father-in-law has problems with milk. To thicken it I use flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Good! Used butter instead of bacon grease. Added cooked pancetta. No cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
2/16: very good. a few changes. i used scallions instead of onion and just a little but either one would be fine. i used 2 slices of bacon only because only 2 of us were having crumbled bacon on top. i did not mix the bacon in with the soup, i think that wouldn't have been good. for the roux, i used 1/2 cup heavy cream and 1/2 cup half and half and it was way too thick. after combining in the soup and pureeing, i had to add 2 cups of boiling water with one chicken cube in it to thin it out. i used dried cilantro. needed more flavor at the end so i added dried mustard, cayenne pepper, salt and ground pepper. alot of each. then it was very good. matthew, larry and i all like it with bacon on top and crountons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This is by far the BEST potato soup Recipe I have ever made! I did not have tarragon and only had Half &Half rather than heavy cream, but it was still very rich, creamy, and full of flavor. Had red potatoes on hand, so used them with skin on. Did not purée...used masher. My husband is not a soup lover, but has labeled this soup as one of his favorite meals! You can't go wrong with this one??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I made it and I love it, and it was so good for the snowy weather we had, my daughter had two bowls. That says alot, because she is such a picky eater. I top it with fresh chop green onions,fresh chop cilantro and shreded mild cheddar cheese. It was delish. Thank you. Celina Jones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celina Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ccolborn
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I made this recipe and realized at first taste "This isn't my mother's potato soup!" Excellent and flavorful - I feel like it has a very sophisticated taste that would be a hit for parties and events! On the "home-cookin' side - my son (who never tasted potato soup before) loved it! I'm not sure about the person who said it had no taste - perhaps they left out the bacon or spices? I thought it was quite beautiful and yummy :) I kept mine a bit thin without thickening it and it was almost gone before I could get a picture! Thank you for posting the recipe and sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
My family enjoyed this soup. It is worth the extra effort for the full-flavored results. I did add about a cup of sharp cheddar just because we like cheesy soups. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate M.
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Very tasty, but I would say it takes 45 minutes to an hour to make. I like bacon crispy especially when it needs to be crumbled. Since I needed to purée the potato mixture (in several batches due to blender capacity), I didn't add the bacon until I was done with that. Also, the cream mixture doesn't need to be started until you're close to done pureeing. I didn't have tarragon, so I used dill and loved it! Garnish with some shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States