Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Delish! Loved it! Tarragon and cilantro make it so unique! I made the following healthy changes...turkey bacon. Canola oil to cook onions in. Instead of a butter {fat} based rue I poured the half n half into the stock pot then after cooking stirred in instant mashed potato until it was as thick as I wanted it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This recipe was KILLER GOOD!!! I followed it exactly as written and it was perfect! I would not change a thing. It did however take a lot longer than the suggested 40 min, but it was well worth the wait! Great comfort food!! Will make this again and again!!! Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kanela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
One of the better potato soup recipes I've tried. Took a lot longer than 40 minutes to make. Fair amount of prep work. I will try to lighten this up for future batches. I made it for a high calorie dinner for my underweight son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRETCHAD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I literally just finished the cooking this recipe. It is sitting on the stove as we speak. My boyfriend had a tooth extracted this morning and he loves potato soup so I searched the internet for "top rated potato soup recipe." I came across 3 recipes and found this one with over a remarkable 1000 reviews and a 4.5 star rating. I had a winner. I just finished adding a touch of salt & pepper and already this soup tastes amazing. Honestly, I have never had a recipe that called for tarragon and I can definitely taste the flavor and like it. Not to mention the 3TBS of cilantro which my BF is also crazy for. I followed this recipe exact to what is given didn't add/substitute one thing. It's a great recipe and I am definitely going to have to keep it in the arsenal. Thanks so much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Very tasty. I cook them til it's a bit thicker of a soup. Add cheese and green onions on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Variation: For the thickener use some of the bacon grease instead of butter. Add bacon last. Use dill instead of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I have made this recipe at least a dozen times and it only get's better each time. Highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
The only change I made was subsitituing rutabagas for potatoes. It was awful. We couldn't get past that bacon grease flavor. It tastes like veggies in bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca Cagigal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Yes I Tried it. I loved it and will send it on to my Daughter and my Sisters. I know they will love it as well. Thank you Ruth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rotnruth
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Perfect and don't change a thing. Delish!!!!????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States