Absolutely The Best Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This wasn't my favorite. A litte too spicy...maybe I went too heavy on the cayenne pepper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Definitely not the best shrimp scampi...the breading of the shrimp is unnecessary, adds extra carbs and cals and does nothing for the flavour. Much prefer Shrimp Scampi Florentine from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Oh my. I made this for dinner tonight and it was really, really, good! I made a few modifications though: I omitted the cayenne and salt to the flour and replaced it with Old Bay seasoning. I used 1 lb of shrimp, but kept all other ingredient amounts the same. I used 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 butter; I used fresh oregano, 1/4 cup white wine, no brandy and about 2 Tbsp of lemon juice. During the wine/brandy step, I added the fresh herbs in at the last minute and then poured everything over the shrimp. The last thing I did was to sprinkle crumbled feta cheese over the entire dish before broiling. The end result was out of this world good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
An excellent version of scampi. I changed it a bit by using a mixture of clarified butter and olive oil instead of straight olive oil, added a few more cloves of garlic and mixed in about 2 teaspoons of lemon zest with the garlic and shallots. Also used the parsley as garnish rather than cooking it. There isn't as much sauce as other scampi recipes I've made so it's really not meant to be served over linguine or rice the way I do with other scampis. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Sniatkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
diappointed....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Wonderful, I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Made this last night for dinner. It was very good. I think next time I will take the suggestions of another reviewer and add some green onion and diced roma. I think that will bring something very nice to the dish. I would like for it to have been a bit more saucey since this does not really produce any sauce. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Grneyedmustang's adjustments should defintely be made: "I made this again, adding green onions and some lemon juice (1/4 lemon), and loved it. I also let the shrimp sit in the flour mixture about seven minutes before sauteeing, and added one small diced roma tomato to the garlic mixture" I further added a smidgin' of tomato paste -- not sure if I'd do that again and if you try, limit it to 1-2 teaspoons I'd say. Other good advice here was to completely butterfly the shrimp -- it's not a hard and it's a great effect. I used non-stick pan and thus didn't have much pan scraps to flambe. I ended put a little more white wine over the dish after the flambe. THIS IS A SHOW-STOPPING STARTER. Your guests will flip! Consider making more! (I also added some scallops, those for 2 min. instead of 5. *Great!*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I will make this again, and again, and again! If you are looking for a Red Lobster type of recipe, this is not the one. However, this is a scrumptious meal. I added butter to the oil, and that worked well. Next time, I will put a tiny bit more garlic, but this is my personal preference. My kids looooooved the shrimp and ate them all! They also loved watching the fire in the pan (I had fun setting the alcohol on fire ;-D) I served the shrimp with a side of buttered pasta. Yummy! This was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is an outstanding shrimp recipe. I had extra people so first I browned some cod cakes and placed in over and then did the shrimp as specified - what a great combination. Everyone raved, they think I am a genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States