Absolutely the Best Nacho Dip Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Great! I mixed the cream cheese, sour cream and the mayo the night before. used more cocktail sauce. used thick salsa. and replaced black olives for the cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Delicious! I've taken it to parties and people love it! The cocktail sauce makes it stand apart and people notice there is something different about it but can't figure out what it is. Be mindful of the salsa...try to keep it thick and chunky so it doesn't water it down. Thanks to Jeff for submitting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
I have made this dip several times and everyone loves it. I added 1/3 cup of cocktail sauce as I like the flavor. Also used Mixed Mexican cheeses and do not add the cucumber slices as they get in the way of dipping. Frito scoops are great with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
Nobody liked this at our girl's night out party. It was very watery and I thought the cocktail sauce made it taste too sweet. Not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This was a really delicious variation to all the other nacho dips that are out there. I followed the directions exactly, with the exception of adding chopped black olives to the top. It was great. It was a tad watery after sitting due to the salsa, I think draining the salsa would be a good tip as a previous reviewer recommended. Thanks for the recipe Jeff, I'll be taking it to our company Christmas treat day, along with copies of the recipe. I'm sure many will request it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
I don't like being a nay-sayer but, although a beautiful color combination, my guests were not that thrilled with this dip. I will try it again but will doctor it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
The only problem that I had was that the salsa made the dip runny. I made it earlier in the day and quite a bit of water was coming out of it when I served it. The cocktail sauce does taste so good in it and I did use olives instead of cucumber. I am thinking of trying it w/out the salsa next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
I used a glass pie plate to layer this into. It was the perfect size. No one in our house likes green onions, so I chopped up a yellow onion instead and it was fine. The only complaint is that at our party, the cucumbers made people go "THIS is a nacho dip?" As it turned out, no one ate the cucumbers. They were pretty, but not really appropriate for a dip. Next time I'll put a ring of whole black olives around the top, or just sprinkle some sliced black olives on the top. Otherwise, wonderful flavor. Don't omit the cocktail sauce, it really makes the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This dip was gone in 60 seconds! Definite crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
What can I say that someone hasn't already said? This was great! I had my doubts, because of all the liquid from the salsa + cocktail sauce, but it was fine. The only thing to consider, is if you like olives, you could add a layer of them. I'll be making this again and again. Yum! Thanks for the recipe, Jeff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States