Absolutely Perfect Palak Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Yum! Used suggestions from others regarding the cheese. Queso fresco is regional here so much easier to get. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HillaryB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Delicious. I added more sour cream. 1%, seasonings to taste. Oh and since we have a fantastic Indian grocery store in our neighbourhood I substituted ghee for olive oil. I wouldn't try to do this with ricotta, find a grocery store where you can buy paneer if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This was delicious! I doubled the spices and used the sour cream (one small individual size) but yoghurt might sub well. I used fresh cilantro and paneer (about 250g). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was a great basic recipe for Palak Paneer. I did use a lot more of the spices than what the recipe called for otherwise it would have been quite bland. Used a cup of low fat yogurt instead of sour cream. Added season salt, pepper and chili powder. I didnt have fresh ginger so substituted garlic ginger paste, didn't have tomatoes so substituted tomato paste. Added potatoes to make it a bit more interesting. Used store bought paneer which made it simple. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I lost my old palek paneer recipe, so I gave this one a shot. I made this recipe exactly as written (with the exception of using paneer- something that I find to be key to a good palek paneer) and was disappointed. Spices were faintly apparent- after tasting the lifeless result, I upped them with 2 tsp garam masala and 1/2 tsp turmeric. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp cayenne. I added a cup of plain yogurt and some desperately needed salt. At that point the recipe was acceptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I make paneer from another recipe and the dish turned out great. A big hit with my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I have to go with 4 stars (could have been 3 even) just b/c this recipe as written doesn't have near the spice and flavor one would except from Indian food. Unfortunately, I had forgotten all the advice from others about doubling the spice (I was making tons of stuff last night and had reviewed so many recipes my head was spinning). That said...this one has potential to be a 5 with doubling spices and adding 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper. FYI...I used 3 nine ounce bags of fresh spinach, 3/4 can of six ounce tomato paste, only used 3 TBS of olive oil in the initial step, bloomed the spices before adding the sour cream, and made my own paneer. I also drained the spinach before putting in the food processor as it would have been way too runny with all the liquid that was still in the pan after cooking the spinach. 9-9-09 update: I doubled the spices...did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST PALAK PANEER I HAVE EVER HAD IT WAS AMAZING!!!!!!! make your own paneer dont use ricotta not the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Very tasty, I doubled the spices and did not used the yoghurt at all because I didn't had any .I used fresh spinach and blend all and then added the sauteed tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Maybe it's just differences in how this dish is prepared but I expected this dish to be creamier than it was. I used the two boxes of frozen spinach and 1 cup yogurt and doubled the spices as recommended by one of the users but I found the dish tastes just like spinach and not much else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States