Absolutely Perfect Palak Paneer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Thumbs down. I followed the instructions, but my dish came out very watery, and thus the spices were watered down. I'm throwing the rest out and going back to take-out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Soooo tasty. I definitely take it easy on the olive oil and sour cream. Tried not frying the paneer once, it was not the same. Of course, I get horrible oil splatter when I fry the cheese but such is the cost of tastiness. This recipe has become a go to for me. I usually eat it in two sittings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Um.. I just didn't think it was absolutely perfect. Maybe I was hoping for restaurant-style when I knew it wouldn't be, but this was just... I don't know... not recognizable as Palak Paneer? It was good, I'd make it again, but I don't salivate thinking about it, as I do most Indian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is the WORST recipe I've ever tried in over 40 years of cooking. I don't even know where to begin. Maybe it started with the incorrect proportions, maybe with the fact that ricotta cheese doesn't really brown, maybe with the watery consistency of the spinach mixture, the fact that it tastes like nothing... I'm at a loss and nauseous to boot. And I don't know what to do with the ten pounds of green liquid nothing I have leftover! One star because spinach is (usually) good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This is the hardest Indian dish to get right, in my opinion. Maybe one just needs to have learned it from an Indian mother. I've tried at least a half dozen recipes for this (one from a highly regarded Indian cookbook author) and they were all big disappointments. This recipe was, too. With some ethnic dishes, I think you either have it in your DNA to make it taste right or you don't. If you love this dish when it's served in a fine Indian restaurant, have it there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I used 3 boxes of frozen chopped spinach and that made me double the spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Even when I tripled the spices it still just tasted like spinach cooked in sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I made a couple of substitutions for what I had on hand. I used the Paneer recipe by Amibould instead of ricotta, and I didn't have sour cream so I used regular cream. This is soooooooooooo good! Leftovers got yummier with age too. Ate it over Naan by Mic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I've made this recipe twice before exactly as listed, but this time I did it with only 1 pound of fresh spinach, and we liked it SO much better!! The flavors balanced much better and tasted less like baby food. To make this vegan, I did tofu instead of cheese and coconut yogurt instead of cream. I just added some tomato paste and quadrupled (or so) the spices (plus sriracha). Maybe it's not authentic, but it's DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Very good. Lots of work so I would definitely use frozen spinach next time. Also.. as others have said.. the ricotta was odd but I just blended it in at the end. I used lots more garlic and spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States