Absolutely Fabulous Portobello Mushroom Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
I agree this is one of the fastest ways to impress people I've discovered. I've tried this recipe with store-bought Alfredo sauce before, and we found it way too sweet--mind you, it was because of the paticular sauce we chose. A quick suggestion if you don't have the ready-made sauce on hand: saute 2-3 cloves minced garlic in some butter, add the mushrooms and saute for 2 or 3 minutes, add 1 tablespoon of flour to 2 cups milk, then add to mushrooms, simmer until thick and then add 1/3 cup parmesan cheese -- voila! A low fat alfredo with delicious mushroom taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
All of the taste and none of the time! Already a favorite of ours. Now a dish I can prepare after a long day at work without the worry of thawing anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
Really good overall. i didn't have portabello mushrooms and just used button mushrooms. i cooked the mushrooms in a sauvignon blanc and then drank the rest of the bottle with the meal. A lighter wine made a great match. i made my own alfredo sauce, too. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I made this last night and it was incredible. It was the only time I have ever made a white sauce pasta at home that tasted like I ordered it in a restaurant. I added some peas. I used a 9 oz container of frozen Alfredo sauce, and a 14 oz bag of frozen cheese tortellini.(Both were Louisa's brand)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
This is delicious, and it's my boyfriend's favorite meal. I use a tiny bit less oil and a tiny bit less wine (not to mention a low-fat alfredo sauce) and it works out great. I've made this for nearly everyone I know and they all loved it. If you think it's too rich, play around with different pre-made sauces and also try varying the amount of other ingredients. I agree about the bread...definitely serve it with some nice french bread (and pinot grigio! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2001
I was looking for something really fast, really easy but that looked like I had spent hours preparing it. It tasted gourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
Wonderful flavor, tastes like it took a lot longer to make, very simple, good enough for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
This recipe was absolutely wonderful!!!! My friends think I am a gourmet chef...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
I used egg noodles instead of tortellini. It makes it mush easier. I also made a little bit more sauce. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
This recipe was delicious. My husband and I loved it. We will definately make it again. Instead of using alfredo in a jar, I made my own. If you do that, forget about counting calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Smoked Sausage & Mushroom Pasta Marinara

Pair the bold flavors of smoked sausage with mushrooms and marinara sauce.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States