Absolutely Fabulous Portobello Mushroom Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
While I am not a fan of alfredo sauce in a jar, this recipe was quite good--must have been the addition of the white wine (I used a dry chardonnay). I also used baby portobello mushrooms which worked out well. I have tried it with cheese ravioli as well as the tortellini and both are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I thought this was just ok. I followed the recipe exactly, and made my own alfredo sauce. The portobello sauce was very thin and I didn't think it had much flavor. My husband liked the plain alfredo sauce better than the portobello sauce. Overall, I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
5 stars with homemade Alfredo. Used jarred 'shrooms because that's what I keep on hand. Do yourself a favor and don't use pre-made Alfredo; The outcome is very different between the jarred stuff and real sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This was good but a little too rich for me. I used the alfredo sauce from the first reviewer below which was great but needed to add a ton of salt (and then handfuls of more parmesan) and more seasonings to combat the blandness from the tortellini. Used a mix of spinach/cheese tortellini for a tiny bit of added healthiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
In any case, this was my first and last stab at pre-made alfredo sauce - I didn't care for it - that's about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This was great. I used Alfredo Sauce from Rebecca's recipe on this site, and also tossed in some of the sun dried tomatoes I've been making (also with advice from AR!). Very yummy. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was wonderful! Make sure that you do NOT use a jar sauce but make your own. making your own is just to simple and I do beleive all jar sauces taste like dog gravy. I did add chicken, if i were to make this again and add chicken i would make sure that the chicken was in small peices and not large ones although this recipe is good without the meat. I bought my mushrooms presliced so I didnt have to do anything to them but wash. If you want a all in one pot meal excluding the noodles. after the mushrooms are ready add half a package of creamcheese when that has melted in add about 3/4 cup of milk (or till right consistancy) when that has heated thru add 1/2 to 3/4 package of parmasian. becuase the recipe already called for garlic you do not need to add more and you have your alfredo sauce without needing to make it in a different pan. If you want more sauce simply add more creamcheese and more milk. salt and pepper to taste. I also had left over sauce with no noodles and put the sauce over bow-tie noodles the next day...and it was just as good if not better heated up the second day. ALSO Please do not give this recipe a bad review if you used jar sauce or your alfredo sucked as the recipe does not say use a jar sauce. For then you would be rating the recipe on your failer to provide a good alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Very delicious!! I used regular sliced mushrooms rather than portobello because my family likes regular ones better and it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karock1189

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This really was fantastic! We used Newman's Own classic alfredo and it was perfect...and we are kind of food snobs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Great meal! Used "Quick and Easy Alfredo" instead of salty store bought and it was great. Very rich, though. Next time I might try to make a roux like another person recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

See how to make the steak of veggie burgers!

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States