Absolutely Excellent Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
I did not like this recipe. It was cake-like as stated by other reviewers. I wanted a chewy oatmeal cookie and all I got was a sponge-like cookie. I thought it tasted like a muffin so I tried making them in the muffin tin. It would have been okay as a muffin w/o the chocolate chips. I would not make these cookies again, we only ate a few, and the rest will probably be thrown away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Great recipe. Get the sour milk by adding 1 T. lemon juice or vinegar to 1 c. milk. I doubled the cinnamon (it really needed that), and added 1 c. butterscotch chips and 1 c. chopped walnuts as the additions (nothing else). My family loved these. They come out puffy and soft, not chewy like a granola bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
Best Oatmeal cookies ever! They were soft and chewy with great flavor. I added some left over toffee chips to the last half of the cookie dough for a little added kick. I also made it with 1 cup buuter rather than the butter flavored shortening, which I did not have on hand. I will make this one over and over for sure! It knocked my craving for oatmeal ccokies that I have been having for a couple weeks. I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Not bad...but I was expecting a more buttery crispy cookie. Make sure all know it is a more cake-like texture before making! Next time I will use my choc chip recipe and just add oats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This recipe wasn't bad at all. I made it with my 2 year old and he likes them very much. So does the 8 month old baby. I don't mind the flavour of them, although they aren't the most flavourful cookie I've ever had. Good for babies with the soft, cake-like texture. I found them a little better if instead of dropping them, you spread them out a bit so that they bake flatter. I only added chocolate chips to mine, but I will make them again. I liked the suggestion of using flavoured instant oatmeal instead of regular oats - I will probably try that next time to see what it does to the flavour. Before you condemn this recipe, try it at least once. Especially if you have very young children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I should have read the other reviews before I made these so I'd know that they were cake-like! I had to cook them an extra 3 minutes (about 18 minutes total). They were okay though, but probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
These weren't the chewy cookies my Grandmother made. They were cakey like so many other people had stated. I thought I would try them anyway. My son had a brilliant idea...Instead of chocolate chips and/or raisins...We added chocolate covered raisins. He's such a smart guy! They were great! A nice cup of freshly brewed coffee and a few of these on a plate...That's satifaction. I'll be making these over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Not Acceptable!! In my opinion, for an honest to goodness Oatmeal cookie,the Soft Oatmeal cookie recepie submited by bittersweet1, are truly the best on this site!! NO IT IS NOT MY RECEPIE...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
I made these for my son's snack day at school. To my surprise, all the kids loved them. Made them w/ chocolate chips and dried cranberries. If the chocolate chips weren't in them they would have not been sweet at all. I didn't find these to be chewy either - they were much more cake like. I'm not sure if that is because I used regular milk instead of "sour milk"? Not sure if sour milk is milk going sour? or if you are supposed to buy "sour milk"? Anyways - I don't think I'd make these again even though the children liked them - I much prefer a more chewy oatmeal cookie - so I'll be searching for a new recipe. Overall - I gave this an OK rating 3stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
These were VERY cakey in texture- and even that wasn't so flavorful. We ended up throwing out the batter. If you like cakey- then perhaps this is a good recipe for you. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States