Absolutely Excellent Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
Mine turned out soft and bread-like. I had been looking for a more flat and crispy recipe, but once you eat one of these, you can eat several more without even thinking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
When I made them they were cake-like. But they are still very good. Not sure but maybe if you cut back on the eggs they would be more chewy. I followed the recipe except the part about sour milk, I just used regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Very different than the norm which the main reason I rated these as I did. Almost like a spice cake in a cookie form with oats in it. I substituted rolled dates from my health food store for the chocolate chips. The mix of oats, raisins, crushed walnuts in this recipe is smashing. My 1 yr old would like to add a few grunts and "yummy-yum-yums" to my review as well. Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
I thought these were really good. I don't quite get all the comments of chewy vs cake-like. If "chewy" means granola-bar-like as one person said, then I'd agree, they weren't that. But then, I think most oatmeal cookies are too dry and boring, so this is exactly the kind of thing I like. And I disagree that they are "cake-like." They are soft and moist. And they're even better left stored overnight!! The only addition I used was the chocolate chips -- just enough to add a good flavor but not so many to make them too sweet. (Actually, a nice compromise between the dryness of oatmeal cookies and too-sweet chocolate chip cookies.) Rest of my family liked them too. Thanks, Marylou. Don't care what anyone says -- I thought they were great. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
This recipe is excatly what I've been looking for.....a cakey oatmeal cookie!! I did add another cup of flour though. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
These cookies are so great! I just finished the first batch and I ate one and it was perfect. I doubled the cinnamon, and then I halfed the recipe and put chocolate chips and walnuts in one half and rasins in the other. Thanks so much for the recipe, Marylou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
These tasted good and were soft but they just didn't keep well. The cookies had a tendency to clump together during storage because they were so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Baker beware, these are not chewy as stated in recipe title they are cakey and if you add extra oats they are dry. If you like a cakey oatmeal cookie you will love them but if you are looking for a more classic chewy cookie pick a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
This cookie recipe was too cake like. It didn't have that chewey oatmeal cookie texture. I think an addition of another cup of oatmeal might help. I won't make it anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cucina di papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2003
This recipe is too cake like, looking for a good chewy recipe. If any one know of one please let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Hayes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States