Absolutely Delicious Green Bean Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
The taste was excellent. I don't usually like green bean casserole but this was very good--a perfect balance between the beans and sauce. It didn't get mushy at all. The lemon zest was a very subtle flavor. Next time I might try to saute the mushrooms before putting them in the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Thank you for the great recipe! It was just what I was looking for and it was a BIG hit on Thanksgiving. I don't cook much, so it was lots of fun bringing something that everyone enjoyed so much. I've been instructed to bring it every year now! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is so much better than the original recipe. I sauted the mushrooms with the onion and parsley and added 3 tablespoons of ranch dressing. It was a big hit for Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheelwright, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Wawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Ok so I made this for Thanksgiving this year, and as I was cooking for 5 boys, the only addition i decided to make to the recipe was to add bacon. As my boyfriend says, bacon makes everything better. being a vegetarian myself I wasn't able to taste this for myself, but I will say that this dish is literally the ONLY leftovers he has eaten....everyday since thanksgiving. Thanks for the awesome recipe, something tells me I'll be making this a lot sooner than next thanksgiving!!! also, i added the milk before stirring in the flour because the butter was not enough liquid to prevent the flour from clumping...this dish is GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was great! My fiance loves this stuff and gave it a thumbs up. It isn't as easy as the typical recipe, but it is very much worth it. Would go well with many home-style meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made this for potluck style dinner with friends. Everyone loved it. I sauteed mushrooms and made sure top was covered with french fried onions and cheese. Love the recipe title, it's absolutely true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I recently moved in with my boyfriend and he only has a stove, not an oven. I made this completely on the stovetop and it came out perfect. It was only him and I so I cut the recipe in half and it was still a lot. I used 1 cup milk since I had to simmer it on the stove but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarDuJour

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I had never ever made green bean casserole before for Thanksgiving dinner because my fiancee doesn't like it. However, I decided to add it to my Thanksgiving menu last year and he LOVED it. So did the rest of my family. The entire dish disappeared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caverjen
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was a huge hit at our Thanksgiving dinner. It is SO MUCH better than the traditional "dump the cans" dish. It is not difficult to make, but it did take me more like an hour to prepare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caverjen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
My husband is allergic to the preservatives in most canned soups. This recipe is delicious. I used fresh french green beans (cut in half so it would serve more easily) and chanterelle mushrooms (that's what they had at costco) and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States