Absolutely Delicious Green Bean Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I loved the idea of fresh ingredients for this one. The end result was pretty good but something lacking in flavor. I'll play with it a little. I used about twice as much cheese as it called for. Next time I think I would add a little more salt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearns, Utah, USA
Living In: Hoquiam, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
The taste was excellent. I don't usually like green bean casserole but this was very good--a perfect balance between the beans and sauce. It didn't get mushy at all. The lemon zest was a very subtle flavor. Next time I might try to saute the mushrooms before putting them in the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Thank you for the great recipe! It was just what I was looking for and it was a BIG hit on Thanksgiving. I don't cook much, so it was lots of fun bringing something that everyone enjoyed so much. I've been instructed to bring it every year now! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Perhaps I used too much lemon zest..... the kids asked me to go back to the basic recipe. If I make it again (not for Thanksgiving, though!) I will try more sauce, more cheese, sauting the mushrooms, and reducing the lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Great flavor. I really enjoyed it however if you don't like crunch green beans then cook them longer than what she states. Otherwise extremely easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I thought that this was the best green been casserole that I have ever had!! I think the people that did the other reviews must have done something wrong with the recipe because every person that ate this at Thanksgiving dinner raved!! The only thing i did different was use more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made this for Christmas dinner and it was a major hit. I didn't put the cheese on top as I didn't have any but everyone wanted to bring the rest home..and wanted the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Forgive me, but after all the the "fresh, scratch" comments, why are we using frozen beans? I have no problem with it but it doesn't seem to fit the hype. Having said that, I will try it as I love that casserole and I hate the canned soup stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
The assembled casserole, waiting to go into the oven, looks and smells absolutely delicious, as advertised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Ok so I made this for Thanksgiving this year, and as I was cooking for 5 boys, the only addition i decided to make to the recipe was to add bacon. As my boyfriend says, bacon makes everything better. being a vegetarian myself I wasn't able to taste this for myself, but I will say that this dish is literally the ONLY leftovers he has eaten....everyday since thanksgiving. Thanks for the awesome recipe, something tells me I'll be making this a lot sooner than next thanksgiving!!! also, i added the milk before stirring in the flour because the butter was not enough liquid to prevent the flour from clumping...this dish is GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States