Absolutely Delicious Green Bean Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I love this recipe. I've made it a few times now and it is a favorite for the frequent family BBQs around here. I add bacon because, well, what doesn't go well with more bacon right?! & I didn't have lemon but it was still super fabulous. This is my Go To Green Bean Casserole. No more cans of SOUP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
The best I have ever had. I didn't have any cans of cream of mushroom soup, so I used this recipe. I didn't use as many mushrooms (and mine were canned)and didn't use any lemon zest. It was incredibly rich and I could definitely taste the cheddar. Thanks for sharing! I will never go bake to the canned cream of mushroom soup version again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Usually my sister makes this type of dish for Thanksgiving (with the canned soups, which I don't like) so I offered to make it this year. Found this recipe and gave it a try and now I'm in charge of making the green bean casserole! Everyone loved it. I even made it again the following week and tweaked the recipe a little. It's ok if you don't have the lemon zest and the parsley - it's great without them. The only thing I would recommend is to saute the mushrooms with the onions so they get tender too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dothemooshoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I am looking for a "from scratch" recipe for Green Bean Casserole as this year I'm cooking for Gluten, Egg and Corn allergies. I don't have a problem replacing the frozen beans with fresh, however I cannot use the canned french fried onions. Funny that the first line of the description by the author is "No cans here" yet the final ingredient is 1 can of french fried onions. I guess she meant no tin cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Family will not eat it any other way. This recipe is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
The casserole was delicious but the instructions for bean cooking time was way off and resulted in crunchy beens in the casserole. Cook the beans for a good hour to allow for them to cream together with the rest of the casserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanja Warren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Tried this as a test run pre-Thanksgiving this year. Very good. I will tweak a bit for the actual holiday, but so much better than canned soup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Wow!! I'm not a huge fan of green bean casserole, but my friends and family are. However, this was awesome!! I really loved it. If green bean casserole had always tasted so good, I would have been a fan years ago. Anyway, I had to make some changes to make this gluten free... I used gluten free flour and funions instead if french's fried onions. And it was so yummy. Next time I will add some salt and garlic powder. This is a must try recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Substituted fresh green beans, skipped lemon zest and parsley, added a couple of cloves of garlic. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this on both Thanksgiving and Christmas (different people). Followed the advice of a few others and sauteed the mushrooms with the onions. Use baby bellas instead of crimini (store didn't have them). Added a little extra salt and a dash more pepper. Used 2% cheese and reduced fat milk, and light sour cream to make it a tad healthier. No one knew the difference (although I did add more cheese than the recipe called for). For convenience sake (and from lessons learned on Thanksgiving), I baked it for about 40 minutes and the string beans were still nice and firm. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States