Absolutely Delicious Green Bean Casserole from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Added some crumbled bacon and a bit of the rendered fat instead of one of the tbsp. of butter when making the roux. LOVED this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This was a great recipe but it was very rich, and I added soy sauce, a few dashes of Worcester sauce and a lot of salt and pepper and it was still missing something. Next time I make it I will use fresh green beans and cream of mushroom soup and a little sour cream.... and see what's up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I avoid canned soups so I tried this recipe. I ended up cutting the sour cream in half and there was still plenty. Overall it was pretty bland other than the french fried onions. I will not be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
The family raved about this recipe. This had a nice flavor, and I liked the mushroom and onion with the green beans. To make this gluten-free, I substituted 1 can (18 oz) Progresso® Vegetable Classics creamy mushroom soup with 2 Tb potato flour as a thickener. For the topping, I used gluten free onion flavor potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Tried my first green bean casserole tonight and it did not dissapoint. I added two cloves of garlic and sauteed with the onions and mushrooms. I also added 2 tsp dijon mustard for more flavor. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
LOVED this recipe! Like others, it got my attention because it doesn't use anything from a can! With the frozen beans you can control how well done you want them. I prefer them nice and crisp which you definitely can't get from a can. I used shiitake mushrooms which we had marinated ourselves. The sour cream and lemon zest give the dish a nice bright tanginess and the crispy onions added a lot of flavor. I did use the cheddar cheese but just a little as I didn't want it to be too heavy and gooey. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made this dish last year for Thanksgiving and it was gone within ten minutes and I was asked to make a triple batch this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
We really enjoyed this casserole. I didn't use frenched green beans, just whole ones. Also, I omitted the onions, and it still tasted great. I mixed everything together in my baking dish to save dishes. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I'm sure this may taste wonderful, but it's too much hassle for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybug49

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I have made this twice in the past 2 weeks and it has turn out perfect both times! I've tried it with fresh green beans and canned green beans and I love both! If I have time to prep it I will use the fresh green beans and if I am short on time I open up the canned green beans! By far my favorite green bean casserole! It will be a favorite for awhile! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Her

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States