Absolutely Delicious Baked Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This is a terrific recipe. All we have to do is to insert our favorite root vegetable. Personally, I like leeks, garlic, onion, potatoes, carrots, parsnips, even mushrooms (although you'll need to leave those larger since they'll melt down) as long as you keep the size of the veg similar and density is also important. sometimes i keep this as is and some time i add a little sugar, honey, chilies, etc. But this is a terrific go to as your starting point. don't put a veg in here you don't like. only use those you like; those in the fridge. you'll come back time after time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Elmlinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Yes, I just loved it especially the parsnips that I added. They were sweet and delicious. I read the hint about using Montreal Steak Spice which I often use for barbecueing and grilling. It is a great addition. Wonderful recipe on cold winter days, but would be fine in warmer weather, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
A very good recipe for root vegetables, but if you don't like rutabagas or parsnips or carrots, it is better to leave them out and go with what you like. My personal preference was to substitute acorn squash for rutabaga. I also found that the carrots and parsnips cooked more slowly than the other vegetables, so next time I will try giving them a head start by par boiling them. Husband thought the spices were a little overwhelming, and I will reduce the punch next time to suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I only did rutabagas, sweet potato and carrots and it was delicious. I used savory spices such as thyme, oregano and rosemary with the onion and garlic powder and paprika and old bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Skipped the carrots, added a touch of good cinnamon and ginger. Went liberal on the steak sauce and maybe the hot sauce. Turned out great. A tasty blend of veggies. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
My husband ate almost the entire pan of this! I only used two tablespoons of sweet chili sauce, but next time I will use more. My favorite is Mae Ploy sauce. I also didn't used a rounded teaspoon of the steak seasoning. I used butternut squash instead of rutabaga. I think the seasoning would work well with any mixture of root veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was easy to make and excellent. I hate plain veggies and steer clear of Greek restaurants because I dislike plain baked veggies like they always serve. These were amazing, great flavor.I did add an onion, quarted and seperated to the mix. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was very good. I added whole garlic cloves as well as an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I didn't add the parsnips and I added about 3 teaspoons of freshly grated cardamon I served it with steamed asparagus and broculli and homemade whole wheat and molasses bread. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Amazing... I make with just sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States