Absolutely Delicious Baked Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
A very good recipe for root vegetables, but if you don't like rutabagas or parsnips or carrots, it is better to leave them out and go with what you like. My personal preference was to substitute acorn squash for rutabaga. I also found that the carrots and parsnips cooked more slowly than the other vegetables, so next time I will try giving them a head start by par boiling them. Husband thought the spices were a little overwhelming, and I will reduce the punch next time to suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I only did rutabagas, sweet potato and carrots and it was delicious. I used savory spices such as thyme, oregano and rosemary with the onion and garlic powder and paprika and old bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Skipped the carrots, added a touch of good cinnamon and ginger. Went liberal on the steak sauce and maybe the hot sauce. Turned out great. A tasty blend of veggies. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
My husband ate almost the entire pan of this! I only used two tablespoons of sweet chili sauce, but next time I will use more. My favorite is Mae Ploy sauce. I also didn't used a rounded teaspoon of the steak seasoning. I used butternut squash instead of rutabaga. I think the seasoning would work well with any mixture of root veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This was easy to make and excellent. I hate plain veggies and steer clear of Greek restaurants because I dislike plain baked veggies like they always serve. These were amazing, great flavor.I did add an onion, quarted and seperated to the mix. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was very good. I added whole garlic cloves as well as an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I didn't add the parsnips and I added about 3 teaspoons of freshly grated cardamon I served it with steamed asparagus and broculli and homemade whole wheat and molasses bread. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Amazing... I make with just sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These were pretty good. I did find them a bit too spicy for my palate, and I think it was the extra pepper that did it--the submitter is right, Montreal Steak Seasoning packs a punch, and it has pepper in it already. I'd leave out the additionl pepper next time. I don't think I've ever had parsnips or rutabagas, and I have no idea if I like them--didn't find them in the store so I just left them out and put in a red pepper instead. I also used baby carrots--tossed them in as is, although I really shouldve cut them in half at least since they took the longest to cook. These veggies are good; just modify the seasonings to taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My family did not like this. I can't really blame the recipe though. I think we just don't like rutabaga. Also, since I didn't have any sweet red chili sauce so I substituted a small amount of chili oil which is probably totally different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States