Absolutely Best Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Wow! I think these were the first homemade brownies that had the texture of box-mix brownies with the taste of real chocolate! Of course, it doesn't hurt that my (chocaholic) daughter substituted chocolate chips for the walnuts! For those of you who, like me, don't use self-rising flour or keep it on hand, for each cup of self-rising you can substitute 1 c. all-purpose flour, 1 1/4 t. baking powder, and 1/8 t. salt. (Either double the recipe or keep the other 1/2 cup on hand for the next batch.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Great stuff! I addd 1/2 teaspoon baking powder and it gave it a cake-like brownie texture to it....next time I wont add bp as my honey prefers the chewiness a brownie has...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Easy and good brownies...I added a third cup of chocolate chips but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I made these brownies yesterday. My husband and I loved them. It is absolutely 'a piece of cake' to make these and ready in no time. So great for last minute guests. I did not have self-rising flour and added 1/8 tsp baking powder; and also I added pecans instead of walnuts. I cooked it for 30 minutes. We loved it either 'a la mode' or with a nice cup of coffee. Absolutely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Made double the recipe in a 9 X 13 pan and baked for 30 minutes. These brownies are a great return for the effort you put in. As per another reviewer, I mixed all the other ingredients into the large pot that I melted the butter in, thus cutting down on dishes. I didn't add nuts, but I'm sure they would be good too. Dusted the greased pan with cocoa powder so that the brownies would be prettier. Thanks for a wonderful recipe that I will be sure to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
delicious basic brownie! I use whole wheat flour and a teaspoon of baking powder, also I use raw cane sugar and it is a huge hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbremner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
A couple weeks ago I tried this recipe, and the brownies turned out alright. The reason I chose this recipe initially is because I accidentally ended up with self-rising flour, and I wanted to bake brownies. The texture did turn out cake-like which was good. I don't feel like it was rich enough, though, but that could have been my second (possibly third) rate chocolate powder. Usually when I bake brownies I prefer to melt chocolate squares or chocolate chips. If you have a chocolate powder you like then this recipe might turn out better for you. I didn't feel they turned out great, but they weren't bad. I tried the same recipe last week, and they turned out so much better. They disappeared much more quickly than the ones the week before. For some reason these brownies turned out more dense which I felt made them richer. I think I might have not followed the recipe exactly initially because these ones turned out sweeter and richer and my roommate said it was because of the vanilla. I don't have a proper measuring spoon, and I think the one I used the first time was smaller than a teaspoon. So I initially rated these brownies 3 stars, but after the second batch (even with low quality chocolate) I give these brownies 4 stars because the second batch turned out so delicious. Maybe with better chocolate, these brownies can get 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
These brownies are awesome! I add a quarter of a cup of hot fudge ice cream topping and a cup of chocolate chips to my batter and it is sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
These are absolutely the best brownies I've had! I added pecans and that just made them better!! The second batch I made I omitted an egg for the boyfriend because he prefers a more consistent brownie which he requested more of! Thank you for sharing this great recipe!!! =3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Incredibly easy and delcious. I cooked for 30 minutes and followed the recipe to a "T". Not the absolute best but definitely up there. And being just as easy, or maybe even easier than using a box, these deserve five stars. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States