Absolutely Best Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I substituted crisco butter flavored shortening for the butter. I also quadrupled the reciepe. I added dark choc chips as well. I have a child who is lactose intolerant and allergic to nuts. The shortening took these from good to AWESOME. Much lighter yet they were fudgey as well. They were dry with the butter as well. The shortening also cuts the fat in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lissa0523

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Really sugary, I added reeses pb cups, but the cooking times didn't work with how I baked it. I 4x the recipe because I was trying to make it to give away as gifts, but it was SO gooey that they were barely cuttable. I may try again. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Super easy and great tasting brownies! I substituted AP flour, 1/2 tsp baking powder and an extra 1/4 tsp of salt, then used two mini-muffin pans (24 mini-brownies) and baked for 15 minutes. After they cooled completely, their texture was soft and fudgy on the inside, crisp and chewy on the outside. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
one of those brownie craving times, but i've always gone out and bought them. this time i decided to make some. melted the butter in a pyrex bowl in the microwave, added a healthy squirt of hershey's dark chocolate syrup to finish up the bottle, probably used a bit more than cocoa powder than it called for, added a very healthy handful of raisins, and very coarsely chopped a handful of almonds. 8x8 pan is in the oven now set for 25 minutes...but, as usual, i didn't hear it go off, so it went a little longer. looks okay, though and is cooling now...ooooh! pulled up a corner one: yum! i thought they'd be too sweet, but they're wonderful! i just ate a whole row! soo good, but soo much butter! i wonder if i might cut it in half and replace with apple sauce? i'll try that next time, and use half the sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Great Brownie need to double the recipe though,because I like a large thick brownie. I will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
These were really easy to make, and my Starbucks coworkers loved them! I made them quickly in the pan I melted the butter in, and I used a mix of half regular cocoa powder and half dark cocoa powder. I also added 1 packet of Starbucks Italian Via, and chocolate chunks. The via adds just a little something to all chocolate things, and none of my coworkers believed me when I told them it was a special ingredient! One coworker said "These are the best brownies I've ever had" and they were gone within 4 hours at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Best tasting brownies I have ever had. The kids agree! I used all purpose flour instead of the self rising..and they came out gooey and fudge-like, just the way we like them! I will never buy another box brownie mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Clayville, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
The name says it all. These brownies have the best flavor. This is my new go-to brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Excellent recipe!! I was in a pinch and needed to make a last minute dessert to take along to a July 4th party. I had all ingredients on-hand so I decided to give this recipe a try.....I'm so glad I did! Brownies had a rich chocolate flavor, and a true 'brownie' texture, not cake like at all. The brownies were the hit of the party and were the first thing to go. Had 3 people ask me to go home and bake a second batch! I used regular flour instead of self-rising, only because it's what I had in the house, and omitted the nuts. Added a layer of homemade cream cheese icing & decorated to look like the American Flag. This will be my go to brownie recipe from now on. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
These were perfect! I added pecans instead of walnuts because I had them on hand :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSBERNIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States