Absolutely Amazing Ahi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I did put my own spin on it. I added 1 whole small tomato diced, 1 clove garlic smashed, sweet yellow onion diced instead of green (that's what I had on hand), and 1 quarter red bell pepper diced. I also did not use 1/2 cup of soy sauce, I only used 2 tablespoons and found that plenty. I forgot to toast the sesame seeds but the flavor came through by adding a tad more sesame oil. The added vegetables gave it more substance and added to the already great flavor of the original recipe. It is now something my family wants on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmlvy75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Very good! I made it tonight and it was a hit. I pretty much followed the recipe, except: I used at least 1/2 the soy sauce and about 1/2 the sesame oil. I found the liquid and flavor to be plenty. Also, I did not have sesame seeds and did not miss them. I added 2 avocados because my husband loves them. And I seared the tuna for about 10 seconds total but I think I might skip that step next time. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chihuahualover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Excellent dish. Tastes great and has more color with half tuna (maguro) and half salmon (sake). Can cut the soy sauce in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
So good! Garnished with cilantro and some toasted nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Avocados were too expensive so I used some chopped frozen mango I saved when they fell of the tree in season. Instead of adding wasabi as some suggested I used about a tablespoon of Sriracha chili sauce and a chopped handful of cilantro. Also flash grilled the yellowfin tuna steak about 30 seconds on each side to get a grill mark and taste before cutting it into bite sized pieces. Served the tuna mixture over a bed of soft leafed red lettuce, toasted black and white sesame seeds along side the sweat and spicy green bean recipe. The flavors had a refreshing summer appeal but I would eat it anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
WAY too much soy sauce. I thought I would be safe using half of what the recipe said, but even that was too much. My fish was just sitting in a puddle of soy sauce. I would add a tablespoon at a time until you get the flavor you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I felt this was too salty and even used reduced sodium soy sauce. I think this recipe is 5 stars if you reduce the soy sauce to 1/8th cup. Tip, add a little soy sauce, mix, and taste, add more soy if you need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This is a great recipe. For those that can't eat soy sauce and want a lower sodium option, Coconut Aminos works great as a substitute. I also added jalapeños and fresh garlic to mine for extra kick and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I use low sodium soy sauce with a touch of oyster sauce, also wasabi paste gives ita nice bite and excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I love this recipe I just don't follow measuring to the tee I just eyeball it. When I did follow it to the tee it was overpowering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Amazing Southwest Chicken Sandwiches

These sandwiches are showstoppers, infused with the flavors of the Southwest.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States