Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I'm not a cornbread person but my family absolutely loves this recipe! And it freezes really well- I always keep a few small pans in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I tried this recipe tonight. Based on previous comments, I used only half the butter and about 3/4 cup of sugar. It turned out great! The diced green chilies I used were mild, which made my husband like it all the more. I would have preferred a bit of a "kick" but the flavor was good without it. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis Landon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I made this last night and my husband just cant get enough! He loves it so much he wants me to make for his mom!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I made it alone with sunday dinner and boy was it delicious.. ??????????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Get Some Business

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
The high rating really misled me. I didn't have time to read the reviews to see how people adapted this recipe to make it a 4 1/2 star rating. I didn't have all the butter, so I cut back on it a little. I had to double the recipe for a dinner we were going to. After baking an hour, it was a soupy mess. After another 45 minutes it was better but sitting in grease. My husband tasted it and said that it had really good flavor as his hands were covered in butter.I had to come up with something at the last minute. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scleedmd
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Good Mexican cornbread. I used half the sugar and I'm glad I did. Next time I'll use half the butter. As it was, it was moist and had just the right amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I used white cornmeal because I didn't have yellow. I also forgot to drain the chiles. Neither change seemed to change the turnout...Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
BEST CORNBREAD EVER!!!! Ever since I found this recipe and took it to several get-togethers, it is by far the most requested item that I am asked bring. Simply delicious, especially if you like sweet cornbreads. My husband eats it as a dessert a lot of times! Great with soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Oh, my gosh, this is sooooo good. I did take the suggestions made by others to cut butter and sugar by half. This is the best cornbread I have ever eaten and my husband loved it, too. This will be a staple side for the many Mexican meals I cook. Thank you, Judy, for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is a GREAT recipe. The recipe needs 2x the amount of salt and I will try it with a little bit of jalapeño next time. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ala

Displaying results 1-10 (of 890) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States