Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I was in a hurry, so I made this without reading the reviews first. I would definitely make this again, but next time I will cut the butter in half and reduce the sugar some. My family doesn't like spicy food, so I did not add the chiles; however, I did add some diced green and red pepper. I also cooked it in a cast-iron skillet. I heated the skillet for about 20 minutes at 450 degrees, took it out, poured in the batter, reduced the temp to 300, and put the skillet back in the oven. This gives the cornbread a nice crispy crust. Cooked for about 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Very good! I halved the butter as some other reviewers suggested. My only complaint is that you cannot taste the cheese. Oh and I halved the sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made exactly as stated, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Does NOT need 2 sticks of butter - 1 is sufficient. Used full 4 oz can chilies and only 3/4 cup sugar (may cut back to 1/2 next time). Very moist and family liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
My 3y/o grandson fell in love with this cornbread...make it for him often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Fantastic! Enjoyed by all... Easy to make, not dry or heavy! Highly recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Outstanding!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I loved this recipe! I've made it 3 times. I used jalopanos instead of green chiles. I also cut down on the sugar (i only used 3/4C) and butter (i only used 3/4C) as it was originally a bit too sweet and greasy. After making those simple changes the cornbread was PERFECT. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
My granddaughter is married to a Latin gentleman who loves authentic Mexican food; he raves about this recipe. Every time we have a family gathering, he asks me to make this cornbread, and, if there are leftovers, he always takes them home with him. I felt that 1 cup of butter was unnecessary, so I cut it in half, and the bread is still tender and moist. I generally use the Kraft Mexican Cheddar Jack shredded cheese so I don't have to buy two different cheeses, but any blend of Mexican cheese works equally well as a replacement for the Cheddar and Monterey Jack. This recipe made it into my "lifetime favorites" recipe book, because it is so popular with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 907) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States