Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Sweet, not dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This was excellent cornbread. As per many other reviewers, I halved the butter and sugar and it was plenty without leaving the cornbread really greasy. My daughter-in-law says this recipe is a keeper; the best cornbread she has ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I used half the butter they suggested using and it came out perfectly. I would definetley recommend this to anyone looking for an easy, delicious, spicy recipe. I'm looking forward to making this again at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
WOW!!! I didn't even get it out of the oven and the family was asking me to make it again! I will confess that I used 3/4 cup of butter instead of a full cup as the recipie called for. I also rinsed off the peppers to reduce the amount of heat. The only problem I have now is trying to plan a meal around this incredible side dish. It worked well with grilled pork chops and sausages, but I know it will be a part of my Thanksgiving feast as well. Thanks for this incredible dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bardoc61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Florida, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was by far the best cornbread recipe I have ever made. I just used plain cheddar cheese, added a bunch of sliced spring onions and instead of a can of chilles I added 4 red serano chillis finely sliced. left overs were amazing used as a stuffing base for chicken. I have had so many requests for the recipe. I will never try another. thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This recipe is outstanding! We followed the advice of others with using 1/2c of butter and 1/3 of sugar. We will DEFINITELY be making this again! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This recipe tasted really good. I served it with Chili I. Next time, I will use half the butter as other reviewers have suggested because it was too wet the first day but not so wet the next. Or I will make the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Use half the butter! Trust me. I'm a butter lover and this recipe calls for way too much butter. Also, I add roasted, coarsely chopped peppers. This recipe is fabulous! I'm only on here today because I have to print this recipe for about the 20th time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Great recipe, especially With the burrito pie recipe on this site. I used 6 tbsp. butter and 1/3 cup sugar. Definitely good on the sugar, but next time I might try 2-3 tablespoons more of butter. Wouldn't use the full amount of sugar or butter like the recipe states, though. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I tried making these into mini muffins...the oven temp of 300 left them too crusty on the outside, yet still a bit undone on the inside. They also did not raise up...looked kinda like hockey pucs. I doubled the baking powder and baked at 375 and things were much better. I greased and floured the tins, but they were still a bit difficult to get out of the pan. Even though I reduced the butter and omitted the cheese they were still greasy. 3/4 cup sugar was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 887) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States