Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
My family loves this bread I think its good but I wouldn't call it a winner. I didn't make any changes I followed the recipe to the letter the 2 times that I've made it and I rarely have left overs. I've made it to go with soup and chili - both times it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Best cornbread recipe I've ever had after I made a few minor mods. As mentioned in other reviews, cut down the butter and sugar by half. I also used a 7oz can of diced green chiles instead of a 4oz can. Other than that, I made it as posted and it was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Excellent recipe. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I agree, this is a little greasy, but it is still the BEST Corn Bread I have ever made. Loved the flavor, and it is moist. So often, if you read the recipe on the side of a corn meal box (which I have), it often comes out dry. I will downsize on the butter next time, but I did find the flavor terrific. This will be my "go to" recipe for Corn Bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I foolishly just looked at the stars and forgot to read reviews first. Way too much sugar and butter. With so many reviewers stating that, it should be changed. I'd also add jalapeño as it has no kick, at least to me, with the green chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is sooooo good! I used half the butter, 1/4 of the sugar, and added roasted red peppers. Everyone loved it! This will be my go to Mexican cornbread recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clayzzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Sweet, not dry and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This was excellent cornbread. As per many other reviewers, I halved the butter and sugar and it was plenty without leaving the cornbread really greasy. My daughter-in-law says this recipe is a keeper; the best cornbread she has ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I used half the butter they suggested using and it came out perfectly. I would definetley recommend this to anyone looking for an easy, delicious, spicy recipe. I'm looking forward to making this again at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
WOW!!! I didn't even get it out of the oven and the family was asking me to make it again! I will confess that I used 3/4 cup of butter instead of a full cup as the recipie called for. I also rinsed off the peppers to reduce the amount of heat. The only problem I have now is trying to plan a meal around this incredible side dish. It worked well with grilled pork chops and sausages, but I know it will be a part of my Thanksgiving feast as well. Thanks for this incredible dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bardoc61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Florida, New York, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 893) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States