Absolute Best Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Overall a pretty good potato casserole. However, when I tasted the cheese sauce before adding it to the casserole dish, I found it to be really lacking in flavor so I added parmesan cheese, paprika, a 1/2 tsp of curry powder, a few dashes of worcestire sauce and a small handful of fresh oregano from my garden. That helped alot! I also used fresh cauliflower - about a half a head chopped in big pieces and scattered on top! Nice flavor and smelled great while cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
The kids don't like cauliflower much, so I just left that out and added a few more potatoes. This is a great easy recipe, and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
I did this for a potluck and my friends absolutely loved it. They finished this dish first. I substituted Swiss for some Italian cheese. I think it still tastes good. Cauliflower and potatoes are amazing combinations! Will do it again. It's so so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
easy enough to make - i think the next time i make it i would use an extra sharp cheddar and add some spices - fresh ground pepper maybe. i would also leave out the ham - as a side dish i think it's too much with the meat - maybe add a bit more ham and it could become a lunch cassarole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Oh my! Oh my! I love this stuff! I omitted the cauliflower for my picky husband and used Ritz crackers instead of cornflakes. It was awesome. I bet it's unbelievable with the cauliflower. I think next time I make it, I'll add cauliflower to my side. It's soooooo goooooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
A really great side dish(no ham). We loved the flavour, added a little cayene to the cheese sauce to zing it up a touch. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
My family loved this cheesy casserole! The Swiss Cheddar Sauce is great! I have made this 3 times with great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I also had trouble getting the potatoes to cook completely. Even after an extra 20 minutes cooking. The flavor wasn't bad, but instead of cornflakes usted french fried onions. I think they added enough flavor to keep it from being too bland, as my family also found the cheese sauce to be rather bland. Might try this recipe again with already cooked potatoes, and jazz up the cheese sauce a little. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This one is a winner! My husband LOVED this casserole and even ate it for breakfast the following morning. Served with Aussie Chicken this was one rich and satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States