Absolute Best Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Very Good! Used a cup of cubed spiral ham out of the freezer (thawed). Also, used mixed cheese: half swiss, half cheddar. Microwaved sliced potatoes with just a splash of water to get them started - then added other ingredients and baked as directed. Didn't even notice the cauliflower. After dinner a guest asked for the recipe, and it wasn't until then that I remembered the cauliflower was even in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is very tasty, I did add a few extra ingredients like broccoli, mushrooms and ham that really added flavor. I also used real pressed garlic instead of powder. I didn't have corn flakes but it turned out great anyway--definitely one to keep on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made a few changes based on other reviewers suggestions: sub'd Ritz for the cornflakes, and added more seasoning to the cheese sauce. I also sliced my potatoes on a mandolin, so they were not 1/4-inch thick, and I am glad that I did, because even that thin, they weren't cooked all the way. Great one dish dinner, will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This is very good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Really tasty. I partially precooked the potatoes and the (fresh) cauliflower in the microwave to make sure that it would be ready in less than an hour and I didn't bother with the cornflakes. I also left out the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Great dish! I always love the combination of cheese sauce and cauliflower. Just enough flavor to make it a simple winter dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I had some ham to use up and tried this. It was pretty good - nothing sensational but enjoyable. I used fresh cauliflower and had no trouble with the potatoes and cauliflower being fully cooked - they were done perfectly. Thanks for the recipe Ersta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
4.5 star recipe. Easy to adapt to personal tastes. Added parsley, onion powder, & extra garlic powder to improve flavour. Used gouda in place of swiss, brocili in place of cauliflower, & croutons in place of corn flakes. Cooking time was fine but I cut the potatoes approx 1/8 inch thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. I made it as the original recipe called for. I feel like the ingredients of this recipe will combine to make a delicious casserole, but this recipe calls for such substantive reworking that it should not be listed as more than 1 star. I made it exactly as written, and the cheese sauce was so thick it just sat on top, didn't coat the other ingredients, and ended up rubbery, the ham dried out, and the potatoes needed more time to cook. Unfortunately, I don't have time to read through all of the reviews each time I try a new recipe, and I figured that since this one was rated so highly, the original prep would work. I WAS WRONG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
awesome! need to use less sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States