Absolute Best Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I also had trouble getting the potatoes to cook completely. Even after an extra 20 minutes cooking. The flavor wasn't bad, but instead of cornflakes usted french fried onions. I think they added enough flavor to keep it from being too bland, as my family also found the cheese sauce to be rather bland. Might try this recipe again with already cooked potatoes, and jazz up the cheese sauce a little. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This was a good casserole. I used fresh broccoli and sharp cheddar cheese and added some garlic, oregano and a dash of cayene pepper. Everyone had seconds... leftovers were a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDORKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
I think I'd have to say I'm giving it a rating better than I might give it if I didn't take into account the 3 other people who enjoyed the dish with me. It was a great combination of sweet and salty, but the 1/2 cup of butter was way too strong. All I could taste was the butter. However, my guests loved it, so it could just be my overly infused taste buds! Will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kati Foster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
This turned out great, even though I was unsure about the combination of ingredients. No one that ate it even realized it had the califlower in it! I told them all after they had finished eating. It cooked up so soft that everyone thought it was just more potatoes. So if you or your family are not big califlower fans, this is a great way to work the veggie in without tasting it. I took the advice of some other reviewers and added more seasoning, and didn't use the cornflake topping. I also cooked it longer (about 2 hours) on 350 degrees. In my experience potato dishes don't cook through that fast. Overall, this is a great recipe. I will certainly make it more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
I added frozen stir fry vegies (run under cold water) only to add color. This dish was delicious and the old man asked me to put it on the top of the list (which I did)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Tasted good. Could have used a little more flavor though. I should have added some mushrooms to the recipe. Think that would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I took this casserole to a dinner party and everyone loved it. I was a little nervous about it because I've tried other casseroles in the past and I don't always seem to get them right but this one turned out perfect. I didn't have any cornflakes so I left them off and it was still really nice. I would recommend adding some different seasonings to the cheese sauce just to make it more exciting. And even better --- the leftovers are great for breakfast, scrambled up with some eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This recipe was delicious and reminiscent of a casserole my Grandma used to make. Big hit w/ the guys, but with the girls it was pretty rich. It keeps well, and I've had it for lunch for a week in small amounts. Don't even try it w/out ham! It loses all the flavor. Also, needed extra salt and some oregano to lift the swiss flavor. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I was dissapointed in this casserole. It took a lot of preparation and cooking time and di not turn out that great. The potatoes stayed raw and hard at the bottom...they never fully cooked through. The corn flakes did not really give it added taste. We only ate the cauliflower and ham mixed with cheese sauce (which I thought was too thick and only used half of it) off of the top. I would not waste my time making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
A really great side dish(no ham). We loved the flavour, added a little cayene to the cheese sauce to zing it up a touch. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States