Absolute Best Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was delicious! One of the negative reviews said she was hoping for a Cinnabon taste. To me it tasted very much like Cinnabon. I used brown sugar instead of white to make it more like caramel. When you add the baking soda, be prepared for it to foam up quite a bit, but after you let it sit for 5-10 minute the foam settles down. I served this over sweet potato pancakes and it was a big hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
No SERIOUSLY this is the BEST!!!! Syrup EVER! I had no clue syrup could taste this GOOD!!! OH MY GOD!!! I've been eyeballing this recipe and wow! Just wow! I agree with a previous review, I'm going to up the cinnamoney or add some nutmeg, ;-p. Also, I made my buttermilk from scratch, I'd probably use lemon insteinstead of white video ger, but definitely mix it well before making syrup, bc the curds remain in the syrup...no odd taste just, rather not have it. But this syrup is SO true to it's reviews it was completely devine...um, um, good! Who knew? Who knew syrup could taste so good? Hum...thanks for sharing! Also, I will NEVER buy store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Just tried this. I had to substitute a few things and wanted to change the sugar to create a darker taste. From my adapted recipe, I would change 2 things and suggest to not pre-butter whatever you will use this on. Alternative Recipe for Best Syrup 1/4 to 1/3 c. Butter 1/2 c. White granulated sugar 1/2 c. Dark Brown Sugar 1 c. Lactose Free Milk (actually I would have used vanilla soy milk) 1 T Vanilla Extract 1 T Corn Syrup 1/4 to 1/2 t Ground Cinnamon 1/2 t baking POWDER (no metal taste) 1/2 t Flour (may use gluten free oat flour) Cook as directed previously. Turn heat down to medium. Then add the baking powder and the flour and whisk to combine. Continue whisking and as syrup builds on sides of pan, wash it down with a pastry brush. Cook a total of 5 mins longer than other recipe. Cooking longer will result in liquid too thick to use as syrup. Refrigerate after use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is the BEST homemade syrup recipe I have ever had! Actually it beats anything that I have had from a store as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Haege

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Tasted great! Though, it was a little to much vanilla. I added a 1\8 tsp baking soda, 1\4 cup butter, 1 tbsp sour cream,1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tbsp corn syrup additional to recipe. It balanced out the strong vanilla taste. But overall, great texture and flavor!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Very simple and good. I typically don't like overly sweet things so I was concerned if I would enjoy this. Put the fears away... This was excellent. Made it the night before and microwaved the next day for 20 secs in microwave. My new staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
So easy and sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
best ever!!! you can not beat it. Not even maple syrup can beat it. Amazed at how it turned out!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nolan Rohl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is seriously The BOMB!! Such a wonderful alternative!! I was out of maple syrup this morning but wanted pancakes I came across this recipe and figured I would try it!! DELICIOUS!!!!! this syrup went fantastic with Grandad's pancakes! The recipe is from this site!Thank you for such an amazing and simple recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Luscious! I made the exact ingredients called for. The only cooking method I changed was I let it cook a little longer than 10 seconds hoping it would darken the color (it did not and mine was very pale almost looked turkey gravy) and I added the vanilla after I took it off the heat. It was fantastic and a nice change from the traditional maple syrup. I won't replace it but will add it to the line up :) I did make it ahead to let it cool & thicken prior to using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States